We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best hotel stays ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were at this hotel for a family wedding and had a WONDERFUL experience. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I got sick while we were there and the staff brought me extra Chamomile tea, cups, etc. Our room was made up promptly when requested, our car was brought by valet in a timely fashion, and they made sure our Hilton Honors points were credited. At one point I came back sans husband (under whose name the reservations were made) and without my key; the clerk very appropriately made certain who I was and verified with my husband that she could let me into the room. The hotel has an adjoining Friday's, which was convenient, and was walking distance to a number of restaurants, convenience stores, liquor stores, and the trolly. It was also close to the Peabody where you can see the ducks marching in and out twice a day.

The hotel also took special requests very seriously and made every effort to accommodate them. We highly recommend this property.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank OnTheRoadPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback you provided regarding your recent stay. We take great pride in the service we provide and I am glad to hear of the additional chamomile tea one of the Team Members provided you with when they found out you were under the weather. I am glad you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is located 2 blocks from Beale St and the forum also right across the street from the Baseball stadium that the Cardinals affiliate play in (AAA) had a great experience at this hotel will stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with the entire Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was located right on Union Street, and was walking distance to many of the downtown attractions and Beale Street. The on-property restaurant is a TGI Fridays. The room was comfortable, although the lighting was fairly dim. The lobby is open and modern, the rooms were updated, and clean. Parking is valet, and was $22/day, but it is downtown and parking is going to cost something no matter where you park. the front desk and bellhop/valet staff were extremely friendly and courteous, and were ready to provide information and recommendations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take great pride in the service we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

At first glance, this hotel looks a bit shabby and rundown. The decor and color scheme takes you back to the 70's. However, the staff at the reception counter gave us a friendly welcome, and the warm chocolate chip cookie (provided by all Doubletree Hotels) just hit the spot after a long day's traveling. The staff was also very helpful and accommodating. They helped me apply for a Hilton Honors membership and helped us book a tour to Graceland.

Our room was large and clean despite the dated decor. The bed is also very comfortable. After settling in, we noticed that there was a guy playing the piano in the lobby. The music was nice and we sat for a while in the lobby enjoying the music and the cozy ambience it created.

The location is great. It is a short walk to Beale Street, the main attraction of downtown Memphis, with its many restaurants and bars. There is a Denny's close by, which serves a good breakfast. Peabody Hotel with its marching ducks is also a stone's throw away.

Wifi is free.

Overall, this hotel gives good value for money, since it is not very expensive. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and accommodating. Ware glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First my wife was forced to wait 30 minutes to check in at midnight because I was the person who reserved the hotels.com booking. While she waited, they said I had to call a 1-800 number to verify she was actually my wife. During this time there were highly intoxicated men rummaging about the lobby trying to talk with her. Secondly, the toilet had a large amount of previous hotel guest "waste" which greeted my wife with class. They "fixed" the problem the next morning, which included the toilet failing to flush our entire 5 day stay. Thirdly, our AC\HEATER stop working after 10-15 min of continual usage.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Jason,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. I have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great Hotel overall. Only 1 minor issue with the bathtub not fully draining during a shower. Very clean hotel/room. Felt very safe walking to and from hotel to Beale even after midnight. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of the slow draining shower, but am very glad that you felt the hotel was very clean and safe. I have shared your comments with the team so that we can continue to get better and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The staff was nice and helpful, however the quality of the room was very disappointing. The room did not appear to have been vacuum or dusted in quite some time. The lighting was very dim, which made me nervous as I noticed more dirt when I would shine light onto the floor. The perimeter of the room was grey indicating massive amounts of dirt and dust. I stepped on numerous pieces of little garbage on the carpet. I found garbage behind my bed when I was trying to locate an outlet. There were used napkins, coffee creamer cups, guitar picks, etc. There was also coffee spills on the walls that nobody bothered to clean off. The bathroom floor was also dirty and dusty. There was also a bulb burnt out which made it difficult to get ready in the morning. Overall, I did not feel clean while I stayed here which would make me NOT return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to give us your candid feedback regarding your recent stay. A clean room is a basic necessity for a good stay and I am terribly sorry we let you down. Please know that your review has been discussed with the Team and we are working towards correcting the deficiencies. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Memphis, so that you can experience our commitment to guest satisfaction. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £96 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing