We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ho hum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Here recently for biz, and checked in late.
Don't know why, but was given a handicapped accessible room on third floor. Bed was uncomfortable, and the setup was really bad. Shower was walk in type, thus water splashed everywhere, even though there was a curtain. There was no place in the shower to put soap and shampoo, and one has to reach out to the sink counter-top to place them. ....several feet away. Sink did not drain well, and water accumulated well past 4 inches deep. The lav. flush was not working very well, and one has to really twist the handle to get it to flush. While the clothes hanger was truly accessible to the handicapped, (only about 3 feet from the ground), it was a hassle to use for non-handicappers.
As usual, checked out the gym....which was so - so. 2 treadmills, a cycle and weight rack. Temp was freezing ~ 60 F, until one really got warmed up. Plenty of towels though....so, that was good. Adequate free weights.
Biz center was of the open concept type, in the lobby.
Location was good though, as it was close to many restaurants and Beale St. And the loud pipes from the motorcycles on the street could heard VERY clearly. Maybe it's because I was on the 3rd floor, but still, the windows were closed....and I could hear the rumble clearly. But overall, just so-so.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    552
    387
    181
    108
See reviews for
306
571
80
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a concert so we checked in late, everyone was very nice and helpful! The room was very clean and spacious! You're right down the road from everything good in downtown Memphis! I loved it!! We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livininlouisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The staff was super friendly. The rooms were average. Mold on cealing but only two small areas. Blow dryer has a screen on the back that was completely stopped up with dirt. The street is very loud and you can hear roaring motorbikes all night. This hotel has to have security because you really need it in this area. The TGIF doesn't feel safe at night. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank livininlouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel has valet parking but no valet luggage service. There is not enough carts and no assistance so be prepared to carry your own luggage. Do not eat at the restaurant which is a Friday's. Food quality, cleanliness, and service is at a minimum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Memphis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location of the motel was great (Next to the baseball stadium). The room had damaged blinds which affected the ability to enjoy a good view. The electrical receptacle in the desk was damaged. This could possibly create a shock hazard. The elevator button on the first floor was recessed into the junction box (again potential electrical hazard).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I arrived late on a Thurs. evening after midnight for an early morning business meeting. Upon my arrival, I was informed that the hotel had sold out of rooms with two double beds. The comment made by the front desk was "we've been sold out of those all evening." I told her that it was imperative that I get a room with 2 doubles the following day because my spouse and two children would be arriving for the weekend. The hotel said they would change me to a room with two doubles the following day.

The next morning I got to the front desk early and they said the plan was to me move me while I was out attending my meetings. When I returned in the late afternoon, they had moved me to another room with two double beds, as promised.

Both rooms were musty smelling and the ceiling panels close by the front door were badly stained with water damage. The beds were reasonably comfortable but the furniture in the room was too big. A desk was wedged into the corner by the window but there was no room for a chair.

On Sat. all of us began to notice that we had a lot of bug bites that were very itchy. We thought it was from mosquitos from being outside the previous night.

When we returned home from our trip, my spouse had a doctor's appt. The doctor noticed the big bites and said they were bed bug bites, not mosquito bites. She prescribed a special cream that would get rid of them which we all had to use to prevent the bugs from spreading to the bedding in our home.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mitoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Elgin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The single reason why I could not give this review a perfect 10 was based on the size of the bed. Two full size beds is not attiquate. They should be at least two queen beds. Two people cant sleep comfortably in a double bed. While I really enjoyed my stay here and there was a certain wow factor with the staff and the facility, I may hesitate to use this hotel again if we needed a room with two beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing