We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Brandon, United States
1 review
“Check-in”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Check-in is a terrible experience. We first tried to check in at 3, but they said our rooms weren't ready and that they would call us in about 20 minutes. We didn't receive a call and waited in the lobby with all the other people waiting to check-in. At 4, the line was very long and when we got to the front, the lady told us she called us about 10 minutes after we first tried to check in, we checked out phones and she hadn't called. The line to check in remained very long for the next couple of hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Melissa,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards, and we’ve addressed the problems you mentioned at check-in. Thank you for alerting us to this issue, and we hope you’ll give us another chance to make it right the next time you visit the area.

Thank you,

Ghee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    559
    397
    182
    110
See reviews for
309
585
81
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The restaurant in the hotel was not very kid-friendly, and they were out of many of the items we originally ordered. The food was very high-priced, and the restaurant looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. We did not return to this restaurant at all during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Handy to attractions, but watch out for added costs. They seem to be following the example set by airlines. Sad. On the up side, the hotel is close to the National Civil Rights Museum (a must see, in my opinion) and of course, Beale Street.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank mojopearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On the upside, staff was friendly and helpful in my interactions with them - nothing out of this world, but attentive and helpful. Also, free internet that works well, along with convenient location.

However, rooms and facilities are past time for renovation and likely operational issues going on behind the scenes.

First room I was checked into had cleanliness issues easily seen. Immediately walking into the room I could see lintballs/debris on the floor indicating unlikely the floor had been vacuumed. Also, air conditioner unit cover was absolutely filthy. Housekeeping or Maintenance is not doing their job and management is apparently not inspecting. Bed was okay and bathroom was clean, but bathroom sink did not drain properly.

Second room is better and larger, but still does not smell fresh and there is obvious deferred maintenance. Ceiling tiles are the very outdated drop ceiling foam type tiles showing obvious leaks/stains.

Lighting is subpar in both rooms and televisions are small.

In both rooms there are plenty of scuffs to furniture and walls, not to mention public areas. Second room has a phone with missing buttons.

It is simply time for the property to do a thorough renovation, which probably includes expensive structural updates (i.e, replace old ceiling tile with drywall ceiling). Problem may be they can no longer ask higher prices in current condition, but since they cannot ask higher prices cannot raise revenue to do needed renovations.

It seems management is not following up on procedures to inspect rooms. Furniture can be old, but you cannot apply a coat of paint to scuffed walls and fixtures? You cannot clean the air conditioner cover from the obvious dirt accumulating?

Unfortunately, I would not return to this hotel in current condition.

Room Tip: Convenient location to the main Memphis attractions, but loud. I would expect this is a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid review of our service and accommodations. We will utilize your feedback to improve the facility and the services. I hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ghee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have found our new Downtown Memphis hotel. We visit often and this was by far the best hotel for the value. Staff was friendly. Location was great. Rooms were a much better size than those at other downtown historic areas.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Here recently for biz, and checked in late.
Don't know why, but was given a handicapped accessible room on third floor. Bed was uncomfortable, and the setup was really bad. Shower was walk in type, thus water splashed everywhere, even though there was a curtain. There was no place in the shower to put soap and shampoo, and one has to reach out to the sink counter-top to place them. ....several feet away. Sink did not drain well, and water accumulated well past 4 inches deep. The lav. flush was not working very well, and one has to really twist the handle to get it to flush. While the clothes hanger was truly accessible to the handicapped, (only about 3 feet from the ground), it was a hassle to use for non-handicappers.
As usual, checked out the gym....which was so - so. 2 treadmills, a cycle and weight rack. Temp was freezing ~ 60 F, until one really got warmed up. Plenty of towels though....so, that was good. Adequate free weights.
Biz center was of the open concept type, in the lobby.
Location was good though, as it was close to many restaurants and Beale St. And the loud pipes from the motorcycles on the street could heard VERY clearly. Maybe it's because I was on the 3rd floor, but still, the windows were closed....and I could hear the rumble clearly. But overall, just so-so.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a concert so we checked in late, everyone was very nice and helpful! The room was very clean and spacious! You're right down the road from everything good in downtown Memphis! I loved it!! We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing