We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room had problems. When I checked out they did not care to hear what was wrong with the room only if I would give the staff a good report. Also you must let them park your car and pay $22.00 because there is no other parking that they tell you about.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Ghee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one evening only, on a Saturday night in this very comfortable hotel. The room was clean,and a decent size. We liked the location. It was within a very easy walk to good restaurants and to Beale St. We were not impressed with the Fridays that was on site, but there are many other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank KentuckyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Older hotel with great character and service. Very high service standards. Upgraded and very clean rooms. Very short walk to baseball stadium and famous Beale street. Manager was great. Evening free drink happy hour for guests. Manager went around visiting with all of us. Very nice. Get appetizers from TGIF next door while having drinks. Then off to Beale street. Great time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Made reservations (2 rooms w/ 1 K in each) for the downtown Memphis hotel about 2 months prior to stay. Arrived at hotel and was told (after an hour of waiting) that the reservations were at the other Doubletree across town! Drove across town to be told that they only had one room with one K. Wanted to cancel this reservation and find another hotel and they asked me if I had cancelled my reservations at the Downtown hotel. I was appalled at the service in trying to figure out what happened to my original reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Check-in is a terrible experience. We first tried to check in at 3, but they said our rooms weren't ready and that they would call us in about 20 minutes. We didn't receive a call and waited in the lobby with all the other people waiting to check-in. At 4, the line was very long and when we got to the front, the lady told us she called us about 10 minutes after we first tried to check in, we checked out phones and she hadn't called. The line to check in remained very long for the next couple of hours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Melissa,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards, and we’ve addressed the problems you mentioned at check-in. Thank you for alerting us to this issue, and we hope you’ll give us another chance to make it right the next time you visit the area.

Thank you,

Ghee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The restaurant in the hotel was not very kid-friendly, and they were out of many of the items we originally ordered. The food was very high-priced, and the restaurant looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. We did not return to this restaurant at all during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Handy to attractions, but watch out for added costs. They seem to be following the example set by airlines. Sad. On the up side, the hotel is close to the National Civil Rights Museum (a must see, in my opinion) and of course, Beale Street.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank mojopearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £96 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing