We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“27aug 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
msp
1 review
“27aug 2014”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

1. Have FREE coffee in the lobby 2. Valet parking was too much car was un-accessable 3. Hotel tried to charge more than amount due making my card over the limit and had to take 3 charges on my card which i feel is totally unacceptable and embarrassing. 4. Bathroom fan did NOT work

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jimbosbimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our value and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thanks again.

Ghee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    552
    387
    181
    108
See reviews for
306
571
80
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bessemer, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked a room with the Doubletree on booking.com in the valet area.....went inside 5 mins afterwards and surprisingly my room was ready. There was a new girl at the check in are.....I forgot her name but her customer service skills were the absolute best!!!! She engaged heavily in conversation until the manager was able to help her get me checked in. She recommended the TGIF located inside the hotel for lunch, gave me freshed baked cookies, and recommended the Denny's, Blue's City Cafe and other restaurants in the area. The Denny's were disgusting might I add!!!! The room was nice, despite the pictures and reviews. Very clean. The tub had a problem with draining however maintenance came and fixed it right away. The clock was wrong in the room!!! Nothing major. Check out was smooth! Valet was $22 a day and the guys were nice. I left a few valuables in the car which were still in place the next day when I got back in my car. Beale Street was approximately 2 blocks away. Riverside drive was straight up the street. Felt safe in the area! Robinsonville, Ms was a short distance away off exit 7 where all the Casino's are. Great experience will revisit hotel again. Denny's were disgusting, food was half done! Elevators were fast! I recommend a hotel on a higher floor with a view.

Room Tip: I had a view of the Autozone park.....higher floor is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis!

Ghee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Nice property but rooms are a bit small & crowded, no refrigerator in room. Nice rooftop pool with TGI Friday's convenient on property. Parking was expensive & inconvient. It was $22/night to valet park at the hotel so I parked for $18 at the Peabody Garage and drug my bags in the heat to the hotel...not fun or convenient!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 878sharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Check in was ridiculous! Many guests checking in at the same time and only 2 people were working the desk! Check out was worse...only 1 person working at the desk! $22/day for parking and my car was returned covered in red dirt from a nearby construction site. The bellman wiped off the back window with a wet towel, which made it worse. The room next door was partying at 2 a.m. Lighting in the room is very poor. Will not stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank zippycatArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our value and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Ghee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Franklin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The room was very nice. Exactly as described. The check in and out process left a lot to be desired as I expected them to staff up to accommodate the conference. The restaurant also didn't open until 7:00 on a Saturday which was inconvenient for the conference goers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

A very clean and tidy hotel in a great location. Just a five minute walk to Beale St. There is a very large bedroom and two bathrooms, his ‘n’ hers! The only downside was that the pool was out of action as it was labor day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Zion, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We took a trip to Memphis to get away for a few days after our daughter's wedding. The Doubletree downtown Memphis was clean, staff was helpful and the downtown experience was great. We would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for chosing to stay with us following your daughter's wedding. I am glad you had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis.

Sincerely,

Ghee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing