We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Kings Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We had the loft room which was very comfortable and well furnished. The breakfast is fantastic - just what you need before attempting Pen Y Fan!! Dinner was really impressive too, as was the wine choice. All in all, a great place to stay and certainly value for money. We'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Visited here for some lunch last week whilst on a trip from our stay in Llandudno. (We were holidaying from Scotland). What can I say. It was a freezing day and on entering the Kings Head we were met with a nice comfortable bar area. Lovely comfortable seating (at dinner tables or coffee tables), friendly bar staff and locals, great music and the food was tremeandous.

There were 5 of us (three generations) and everything suited us all. Even had our toddler with us, who can be a handful, and didnt feel uncomfortable at any given time at all. A local gentleman even offered my dad a read of the bar's newspapers.

The food was the best meal ive tasted in a long time, and yet only cost a fiver each. Mum had the Ham dish and the rest of us had the chicken. Both were succulent, tasty and the sauces were fabulous. And at a fiver a dish, you cant complain. The music (im assuming a mix of cd's) was really good and entertaining and suited all our ages, really passed our day discussing the golden oldies. The bars decor was very homely, and enjoyed the walk down the corridor with all it's olde worlde decor! High five also to the friendly bar staff and the young man who served us our food who, for the age of him, knew how to serve customers efficiently, friendly and courteously. I wish we lived closer to this little hidden gem as we fell in love with it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPSCND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

having called the Inn to see whether we could put 2 x 2 nights stays together they agreed. so during our 4 night stay the overall experience was good. The staff were all young and it appeared Graham who we dealt with had recently taken over ownership. I could be picky like some but the only real issue was the covers on the bed, the create a double they attach 2 beds together which means the quilt doesn't fit, the room was very warm so wasn't an issue. The service during eve meals was a little iffy however the food was very nice. The breakfast was nice they would cook food other than the full English which was nice as we were there for 4 days.
We would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan P, Owner at Kings Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hello Ian,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found the Groupon offer to be of good value and enjoyed our food.
The lower standard of service that you experienced may be due to the fact that we have severall new members of staff which are still undergoing training, but I assure you that they will be up to scratch soon!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend our friends wedding. Following a rather unpleasant Friday evening journey from the Midlands we arrived at the Kings Head and were greeted by extremely friendly and welcoming staff, This level of customer service continued throughout our stay. All of the staff were incredibly hard working and nothing was too much trouble for them. In addition to this, the food was well presented and of a high standard. I would certainly recommend the faggots. Our room was very clean and larger than we expected. On arrival folded towels in the shape of swans and flowers were arranged on our bed. The mattress was so comfortable two good nights sleep were had. Also the spa bath was an unexpected bonus.

This is a great place to stay and the staff in many of the hotels we have previously stayed in could learn a great deal about customer service from the staff at the Kings Head.

In summary a great pub ideally located to explore the delights of the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JomjimBedworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

very nice pub. We could not eat, too little time, but the menu we saw and the food coming from the kitchen looked great.
I did not have time to explore thoroughly, but a plaque near the gents' loos gives a potted history of the building. It's quite ancient, and I bet a ramble around it would be quite rewarding, if local history's your thing.
The staff were friendly, informed and highly attentive.
It's also a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We turned up on spec early Saturday evening hoping for a room. Seeing they were hosting a wedding we thought there wouldn't be any available. We were in luck. One room left, just perfect for us. Though they were obviously busy, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Attractive from the outside and warm and welcoming as soon as you go in. Our room was clean and cozy with all the facilities you would need and we had a peaceful nights sleep. We had a drink in the bar which had a great relaxed atmosphere, a mix of friendly locals and travelers. Breakfast was excellent. All local produce, cooked to perfection and lots of it! It was also great value for money. This is a Gem of a place, we're so glad we found it and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawny115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

All seven of our party agreed that the Kings Head Inn was an excellent choice ,we stayed five nights in clean comfortable and sizeable rooms. We had a filling cooked breakfast every morning, and elected to have our evening meal in the large comfortable Bar. Between us we went through the whole bar menu and agreed the food was very good. Throughout our stay the staff were all very friendly and we were well looked after. We hope to return to this location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beezersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandovery hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
445 reviews
0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
94 reviews
0 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
3.7 mi away
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Inn

Address: 1 Market Square, Llandovery SA20 0AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: £62 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of the Bank of the Black Ox, the Kings Head in Llandovery is a traditional coaching inn with a history that dates back to the 17th century.Nooks and crannies, crooked floors and exposed beams together with great food and refurbished bed and breakfast accommodation, make the Kings Head the perfect modern day coaching inn and the preferred choice of many; including tourists, commuters and even members of the Royal Household.Overlooking the cobbled market square, our location is simply superb. In the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park, you’ll find us just off the A40, half way between the Eastern borders of Wales and the ferry ports in the West.But it isn’t just our location that keeps regulars and visitors coming back for more. Mouth watering food, a selection of great ales and a true Welsh welcome all await you at the Kings Head in Llandovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Kings Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Inn Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing