We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has been better”
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Llandovery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Langres, France
Level Contributor
397 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Has been better”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Nice atmosphere. Large pub, with new owners. The room is clean, with leather lounge. the bar is really nice.
The meals would be top class for a pub. it's true for the prices quite expensive, but not for the quality / quantity. The chowder is good but so small without any presentation. Gammon steak does not worth 12 £. Same for the Stroganoff which is basic.
We were here 4 years ago, the cooking and meals were typically good pub food with lower prices. Much more valuable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    66
    23
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I would like to thank the staff and Manager , Andy, for the great service they provided on providing refreshments and food following a funeral recently.
Everything was first class , from freshly made sandwiches to welsh cakes etc and plenty of tea and coffee.Many thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew b, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you Ena,

I am very pleased the day was satisfactory considering the circumstances. I am sure Teifion would have enjoyed too. On behalf of all the staff at the King's Head, we would like to say he will truly be missed, he was one of the great characters

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good value lunch”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The £5 lunch was very good value indeed- well prepared, fresh, well presented. The kids got a bit of a fancy restaurant thrill for an affordable price.I could be picky - my meatballs too salty - and the side order of bread was supermarket sliced white weirdly served on a slate (not impressive in a town with a superb local breadmaker), but happy to give excellent when it is just a fiver for a good, filling, well made lunch. Of course can't cannot comment on the dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeThePorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew b, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we will try to improve in certain areas. We will also look into bakery or home made bread in the future.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good value”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Popped in for their £5 lunch menu and really enjoyed it. I had chicken in peppercorn sauce, but there is also fish and chips, pie and mash, nut roast- all good value when you want more than a sandwich but know you are having a big meal in the evening. Very open plan which is great when it's busy but made the place feel a little empty when it was quiet, but that's just my taste.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Visit for Mothers Day”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were sat by an alcove that smelt of terrible damp. We asked to be moved which they did straight away. The service was very good but on finishing my food saw a crack running right through the plate. I did bring it to the attention of the waitress and told her to bin the plate, but there was no apology

The food was good value and very tasty but would recommend people to eat in the lounge area and not the restaurant due to the damp smell. We booked very early as the place is very busy. I would recommend the turkey/lamb and beef as that is what our family ate.

When I booked the table over the phone I found it very difficult to be understood by the foreign lady that answered me. I followed this up with an email just in case but had no confirmation email back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew b, Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Michael62_11

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review.

We are in the process of trying to rectify some issues, and I can only apologize for any discomfort you experienced.

I have spoken to the staff and in future, I hope they address situations in a more acceptable manner.

I am glad you enjoyed the food and service and we will work hard on the areas that need improving.

I hope your next visit will be better and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing