We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Llandovery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Baguettes were lovely. And some of the best chunky chips ever. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Two4mud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    66
    23
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had an evening meal here and we wasnt disappointed. Despite them being exceptionally bust due to the rugby and a car arlly in town the food and service were very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay for what we paid but some things to bear in mind...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had the groupon which was a great deal, but unfortunately our room was quite cold and drafty, and the walls were paper thin so we could almost hear the next room's conversation word for word.
The breakfast was good but could of had a vegetarian alternative like sausages for cooked breakfast, and there wasn't a single vegetarian meal on the evening menu which was a shame.
Staff were friendly.
We aren't too fussy but there were cobwebs and hairs in the bath.
Overall pleased by what we paid but may not have been as much if we'd paid more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Improved on closer aquaintance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

It made a great first impression - very helpful staff on reception and lovely warm cosy looking place. We purchased a groupon voucher for 2 nights with breakfast and dinner on the first night. However, we needed to change our dates and they were very accommodating and quick to respond to my request.
The room was at the VERY top of the inn with a number of corridors and flights of stairs to navigate. However, the bed was firm but comfortable, the teas etc left in the room had an excellent selection and we were also given a bottle of water each day. It was really quite cold on in our room on the first night - and by contrast heating seemed to be on high the second night! Along similar lines: we stood for ages in the shower trying to get some heat and no luck. Had to get dressed and go for breakfast first - apparently the boiler had tripped! They apologised profusely and sorted it but it was annoying. Also, my bedside light didn't work.
The dinner was a 3 course set menu and loved the starter and mains - although dessert was not as impressive for me. Food was very well presented and just the right amount. Breakfasts were well simply catered for with cereals and/or full welsh breakfast on offer - with a choice of alternate hot meals such as scrambled egg on toast. It would be nice to have the choice of yoghurt or fruit which was not on offer - but I didn't request it.
Overall I thought it was an average stay - but if it weren't for the few temperature issues I think I would have said it was good. The staff were fabulous though and the groupon was an excellent deal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bargain lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great surroundings, relaxed atmosphere, many lunches for £5 and they welcome young children! Would definitely eat there again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing