We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent room and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Excellent room and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We enjoied returning for the second time in Castle Hotel, but this time we found the hotel much better than the first for the excellent room and welsh breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabetta838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    134
    54
    14
    14
See reviews for
49
210
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

A very enjoyable stay overnight. The room was freshly decorated and very clean. The staff went out of their way to help and the food in the restaurant was fantastic.

I would definately go back to the Castle Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Thank you very much for a super weekend, we were over for a family wedding. The supper and lunch were superb, but breakfast was a bit inconisistant, and we really struggled to get anyone to take our orders. My sister had the full breakfast on the 2nd morning and it was far smaller than my husbands the morning before and no one seemed to want to clear the table, so my father had to do this himself.
But as I said earlier we simply couldn't fault the evening meal the mussels inparticular were fantastic.
The rooms were clean and clearly very recently refurbished, there was heat issue, but only becuase it was a warm weekend. There was a mistake with our request for 1 double and 2 twins, but this was resolved fort he 2nd night. there was also a miscalculation of our bill, but again this was resolved.
Finally, the staff were all very helpful and freindly.
As a result I would recommend this hotel and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfs12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

the first thing we noted about this hotel was the size of the carpark. There was no actual reception and we booked in at the bar. Very friendly young lady who escorted us to the rooms. The hotel rooms are in a maze of corridors and it was quite a walk to our rooms but they worth it. Our double room was claen and tidy as was the twin our sons were in. The bed was comfortable. Only slight issue is that the TV was hard to opertae and whilst in mid wales we ended up having to watch London local news.
The food in the resturant was surpeb and the serving staff courtesy and efficent ( I understand they were all from Slovakia which made a change from the Polish and Portugeuse we have at home) Definitly one to return to

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyJsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this recently renovated hotel that has sections dating back to the 16th century. We particularly enjoyed our short stay due not only to the hotel building with its massive oak ceiling beams, open fires and comfortable furnishings, but even more so because of the friendly yet professional staff. The meals were nourishing with stylish presentation. The Castle Hotel has historical connections that include past guests such as Admiral Nelson, and is a stones throw from the ruins of the 12th century LLandovery Castle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
20.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing