We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little find!”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2012

stayed here for one night in November, hotel was full with a family group. arrived and was greeted by a very helpful well mannered man who checked us in and showed us to our room, the room was lovely- room 2 the Lord Nelson suite, very impressive with everything you could possible need, very well thought out with old furniture and modern facilities working well together, lovely roll top bath with plenty of hot water, room temperature was perfect never felt cool ,the cleaners need to be praised as the room and pulic areas were spotless. the same young man served us drinks in the afternoon and directed us to the comfy chairs in front of the open fire, nice and relaxing, we had dinner there too which was very good, hot and tasty with some very modern quirkiness which i like! wine list was good as was menu selection with there being many different options i could have chosen! slept really well bed was very comfortable, was woken by the above mention family groups children running around the corridors, which as not a big deal, went down for breakfast, there were 3 girls serving, one asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we ordered coffee which we got immediately, but then nobody came to take our breakfast order, all thinking that the other had done it! the family group were causing a little chaos as people were coming down joining the same table with people swapping tables etc giving them a hard time keeping up with who had been served or not, when we eventually got their attention we did get a very nice breakfast if maybe a little small, my husband ordered bacon, egg and sausage, and got just one of each, plus we were only given 1 slice of toast each, otherwise nice, just make sure you ask for exactly what you would like, highly recommended, would like to congratulate the young man( sorry dont know his name) a true asset to the company and sooo good at his job, a true role model for the others, and well liked by the drinking locals, carry on the good work! we will be back as your not too far from us! thanks

Room Tip: lord nelson room, attic room looks good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Have been here several times before and noticed that the staff have changed considerably.
Food menu is still the same with no real changes, although food is ok..

I expected more but got less.

Maybe the next visit will be better.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank zumba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear zumba_11,

One of our prime goals is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experience to our guests and if we fail to do so on this occasion it leaves us restless and keen to make it right.

We are constantly reviewing our menus and try to keep the dishes fresh and seasonal. The printed al la carte menu changes monthly and we also have the specials board with changes daily if not twice-daily.

I sincerely apologise that we did not deliver to the standard you wished for and should you decide to return to the Castle, which I very much hope that you will, I hope we can surpass your expectations.

With all good wishes.

Gareth Davies
Manager
gareth@tasteinnwales.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We booked a last minute overnight here when our travel plans changed. After a delightful journey through the Brecon Beacons, we arrived to be given one of their 'best rooms' for the price of a 'good' one. This was spacious and well furnished. Though there are clearly some areas of this hotel which have still to be refurbished, it presents a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We had dinner in one of the many informal eating areas: the food is excellent - interesting and well-prepared and service in all parts of the establishment is friendly and professional. There is an most unusual shop attached to the hotel - a mix of African and Welsh goods. The young partners who recently took over this hotel and have engineered the changes own several other places in mid Wales. Judging by The Castle, they will be equally well worth trying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here with friends to see a rugby match at the end of August.
This hotel has recently reopened. We were met at reception and were able to check in early,
The staff were attentive and polite.
After a longish trek we located our room which was very clean and with adequate tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also very well appointed.
After the game we had a very enjoyable drink in the bar and later had a meal. The food was well cooked and presented by very personable staff. We were also able to sit outside for a last drink.
This hotel is very welcoming and we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffmaryPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked a last minute 2 night break for the bank holiday weekend. We were given the Lord Nelson suite for 4 at £120 per night B&B. The two children slept on 2 Z beds. I was a bit concerned initially about the space that would leave us in the room, however we still had plenty of space. I was so pleased with the quality, cleanliness and size of the room and the bathroom ( double size shower and a separate bath). The food in the restaurant/bar was really good but still reasonably priced. So much so that we ate there both nights. The staff however at this hotel were the real stars and were friendly, helpful and engaging to us and the children. It was a real pleasure to stay there and I just wish everywhere we stayed had such high standards of cleanliness and customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My wife and I plus dog had a very nice break at the Castle Hotel. When they say pet friendly they really mean it!
We stayed in the Nelson room and apart from the traffic noise the room was perfect for us - plenty of character with all amenities.
The staff were excellent - very friendly with nothing being too much trouble.
Previous reviewers have commented on the food - we considered it to be very good with use of local ingredients. The menu is a little limited but as Gordon Ramsey has often said - keep the menu short and do what you are good at.

Room Tip: 16th Century character hotel - if you like quaint try it yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in March 2012. Car park out the back. Pleasant food although i didn't find there was that much to choose from for my preferences, others may disagree. Clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Stayed one night, clean and tidy again. Supplied hairdryer, shampoo, moisturiser, cookies, hot drink supplies. Nice shower. Good and modern bathroom. Very quiet inside. Good night sleep! It happened to be an absolutely gorgeous day too!

Room Tip: Take a look at them on the website first! I had a basic room, but it was still great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
22.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
179 reviews
0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#2 of 13 in Llandovery
132 reviews
6 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: £59 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing