We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good food”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I chose this hotel because of it good location. Its a warn and friendly hotel with good food and beer. It is small and gets full quickly and there is competition for a space around the open fire. The building is old but recently refurbished and they have done a good job. would certainly go back if in the area.

Room Tip: get in front of the open fire early and stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trustingdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Deceptive initially, but once inside this lovely old Inn, it oozes warmth and comfort. It dates back to 1740 and we were thrilled to find that it has two rooms dedicated to local history. This mini museum holds records and artefacts dating back many years, even a book from the Boer War!
It is run by local volunteers and is well worth a visit, even if you are not staying at the hotel, but an added bonus if you are. Lord Nelson stayed here whilst visiting Wales on a mission to gather timber and steel for boat building.

The Castle, one of the Taste Inn Wales group, has recently been refurbished to the most tasteful standard. Our room was light and spacious and the home made chocolate chip welcoming cookies were so good, they should be banned!
We took advantage of their Escape Package which was incredible value at £85 for two, including dinner bed & breakfast. The evening menu catered for all tastes and included dishes like pidgeon, stuffed pheasant, dover sole and a host of other well selected dishes..
I can thoroughly recommend this as an ideal venue to explore the natural beauty of this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are thrilled to receive your positive feedback.

The Local History Exhibition has been a great addition to the hotel, and as you say is well worth a visit when visiting Llandovery or staying at The Castle Hotel as Lord Nelson did indeed on on 28th July 1802!

Many Thanks for Taking the Time to Review.

Gareth Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As soon as We walked in it felt very festive and what a lovely fireplace..Our room was ok, We actually noticed when We got home that We had paid for a superior room,after seeing some of the pics on here,don't know if room 11 was? as We were there for 1 night it didn't really matter...Food in Hotel was lovely,We had the festive cream tea in the afternoon,shame they didn;t have the Mulled wine!! In the evening I had the festive burger,it was lovely..

Bed was really comfortable as were the pillows and nice little touch with cookies and sweets,I would however have shorter curtains as they hid the radiator and could only close one side.. Staff in Hotel very nice,Jenny,Scottish guy and girl with glasses,nothing too much trouble..Would stay again..

Room Tip: We had room 11,paid for superior,can't work out if it was or not!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have never been as impressed with the service, food, and value for money as I have been with this hotel. This hotel has a very atmospheric component and I loved the open fires.The food at this establishment is of a very high standard and the staff here are truly wonderful. I stayed in room 12- a double room for £65. This was well worth the price. The only small gripe I have is that the shower is quite small but the bed was very comfortable and I will certainly be back here. There is parking at the back of this hotel and the town is beautiful and surrounded by the most dramatic landscape.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just spent two great nights at the Castle. Real oldy worldy hotel with log fires and cosy nooks and crannies. A warm welcome by the staff, including Gareth the manager and Emma our waitress on the Friday evening. Rooms comfortable and very clean. Excellent food on both nights with tasty breakfasts. Location is great for walkers and outdoor activities. there were a few creaks and groans from the building but totally acceptable in view of the age and history of the property. We will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for one night at the beginning of November whilst visiting Llandovery for a friend's wedding. The location of the hotel is good as it is located next to all other amenities in the town whilst also being a 5-10 minute walk to the train station.

I stayed in room 15 (one of the "good" rooms) which was a decent size, the bathroom was bigger than expected with a nice decor although other parts of the hotel could probably do with a revamp. My main problem was that the room was absolutely freezing during my stay, which I think was due to the fact it is at the back of the hotel next to the fire exit. My only other 'niggle' was that the wifi password provided was incorrect and so neither myself or any of my other friends could access the hotel wifi during our stay. On the other hand, the full welsh breakfast included with the room was delicious!

All in all, I'd recommend staying here but I'd probably give it 3.5 stars rather than 4 but that isn't an option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The money spent on the Castle has really paid off. The room I was given was very large and really excellent value for money. The food is excellent as was the service. A great experience and highly recommended. Lots to explore in the local area (I was down for the mountain biking in Brecfa and Cym Rhayder).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenMalvern_UK_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
22.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
179 reviews
0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
132 reviews
6 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: £58 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing