We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I had a great birthday stay in a good hotel. It was well equipped and in a good location for exploring the surrounding country side of Wales. Meals were excellent and a good choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFJ1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for one night on the 'Great Escape' Package. You arrive to a very small check in area and to be honest the receptionist was also looking after the Bar. She checked us in and gave directions to our room but did not give us any information about where dinner was served or if we needed to book a time or table for that evening. I later asked another young lady who said just come down. Our room was at the top of the stairs and was very comfortable and clean but it also faced the road. Unfortunately this turned out to be a main road and was so busy and noisy that this spoiled the stay. The actual package price was value for money and the evening meal was very good indeed. I would also say that the staff in the evening were much more attentive and friendly than the afternoon staff. Breakfast was rather disappointing and there was only one lady looking after serving and the reception. There was no fresh fruit and the toast was slightly burnt. Also I feel for the cooked breakfast option although the bacon was good only being given half a tomato was quite on the tight side. When it came to check out after waiting 10 minutes I had to go and look for the lady in the breakfast area to be able to settle up and leave. To sum up as a place for an Evening Meal you would struggle to find better for the price but for staying overnight I would prefer to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5, although a very nice room it is also very noisy from the road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pollyg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent throughout, accommodation first class, location spot on too, friendly helpful motivated staff, super dog friendly, food excellent too, quality & good quantity.

Spacious rooms, free secure parking, open fires, all in all Top class so well done to the Castle & it's staff you really don't have to change a single thing just continue to do as you currently do already.

Highly recommended.

Gary :-)*****

Room Tip: I stayed in the top room and it was spot on no issues, if you find a problem with a room here then y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanky788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The castle hotel is to look at very unassuming, however it is anything but, great food, excellent atmosphere and comfortable spacious rooms, alongside very helpful cheerful staff. All the rooms are great value for money. A really great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Everitt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a lovely night stay - dog, daughter and me, with welcoming staff. Top room was huge and everything present for a comfortable stay. The evening meal was amazing - the best steak I have ever had. Breakfast choice was excellent and poached eggs superb. Great stay with great staff.

Room Tip: The top room was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband, myself & our dog stayed for 2 nights on the 22nd Feb. making the reservation on the telephone Emma was very polite & helpfull as were all the staff who we met that w/end. Food was excellent, Bedroom very comfortable & warm. Couldn't fault any of it & the dog liked it to. Will go back.
Keith & Sally Lewis

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I chose this hotel because of it good location. Its a warn and friendly hotel with good food and beer. It is small and gets full quickly and there is competition for a space around the open fire. The building is old but recently refurbished and they have done a good job. would certainly go back if in the area.

Room Tip: get in front of the open fire early and stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trustingdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#2 of 5 in Llandovery
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: £54 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing