We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is a lovely old building which has been restored beautifully. The rooms are a wonderful size and spotless!
The bar area is cosy with a large open fire and big leather sofas where you can relax with a good wine.
The staff can not do enough for you, without being pushy and we were made to feel very welcome.
We booked last minute and got a great deal on our room and it really was a lovely stay.
You need to go just for the food!! The evening meal was gorgeous and the breakfast menu was fantastic.

Room Tip: We booked a 'best room' and it was worth the little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Castle Hotel certainly is a great choice if you plan to spend some time in the Brecon Beacons National Park. It is a stylish old hotel with nice and spacious rooms and extremely comfortable beds. The food in the hotel restaurant is good as well, especially the hot breakfast (which is included in price of the accommodation) was delicious. The stuff was fine, some of them not completely friendly, but nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for this hotel where we stayed for one night visiting relations. The free car park was a bonus, the alternative being paying 70p per hour in the public car park. Special requests were handled without a fuss. We liked the little touches like bottled water in the good sized bedroom and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. This is an old building with many original features, and also creaking floorboards, but for us this only added to the charm. The hotel even has its' own museum. The restaurant dinner menu offered a good selection of meals, including local produce. We enjoyed two excellent evening meals although perhaps not as good value as the hotel accommodation. All in all, a recommended centrally situated hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We visit Llandovery regularly as we have relatives nearby. The Castle Hotel has been transformed by the new owners to a delightful place to stay, retaining the features of an old coaching inn with lovely large rooms and modern bathrooms. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We will certainly start to use the hotel for our regular visits and would highly recommend it as a comfortable well equipped place with plenty of local character.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Olive O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just a one night stay before walking in the Black Mountains. Plenty of choice on evening menu with specials. Breakfast good quality. Room 6 is spacious and although at the front of the hotel we didn't get disturbed by road noise. All clean and tidy. Hotel is very old in places so the floors are uneven and creak a bit but this adds to the charm. Very dog friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OxfordshireChicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I had a great birthday stay in a good hotel. It was well equipped and in a good location for exploring the surrounding country side of Wales. Meals were excellent and a good choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFJ1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for one night on the 'Great Escape' Package. You arrive to a very small check in area and to be honest the receptionist was also looking after the Bar. She checked us in and gave directions to our room but did not give us any information about where dinner was served or if we needed to book a time or table for that evening. I later asked another young lady who said just come down. Our room was at the top of the stairs and was very comfortable and clean but it also faced the road. Unfortunately this turned out to be a main road and was so busy and noisy that this spoiled the stay. The actual package price was value for money and the evening meal was very good indeed. I would also say that the staff in the evening were much more attentive and friendly than the afternoon staff. Breakfast was rather disappointing and there was only one lady looking after serving and the reception. There was no fresh fruit and the toast was slightly burnt. Also I feel for the cooked breakfast option although the bacon was good only being given half a tomato was quite on the tight side. When it came to check out after waiting 10 minutes I had to go and look for the lady in the breakfast area to be able to settle up and leave. To sum up as a place for an Evening Meal you would struggle to find better for the price but for staying overnight I would prefer to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5, although a very nice room it is also very noisy from the road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pollyg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
490 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Plough Rhosmaen
The Plough Rhosmaen
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
849 reviews
16.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: £55 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing