We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sumptuous huge room perfect for relaxing after walking in the beacons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sumptuous huge room perfect for relaxing after walking in the beacons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had room 2 - really big, lovely furniture not at all like a hotel chain. Huge bathroom - the one in the photos. Breakfast was amazing and staff helpful. Village is worth a mooch around too.... If you're looking to impress then look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    129
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
203
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked a last minute deal at this hotel d/b/ b with dinner included on the first night which was good value, the food was good but not an awful lot of choice. you can eat in The restaurant or there are dining tables in the bar area, it is a very friendly pub and you hear a lot of Welsh spoken which is nice, The castle is right in The centre of Llandovery though there is not a lot there to do a few shops but I think I counted 10 pubs!!!!. This hotel is old so lots of squeaky floor boards and dips in the floor.
The staff were very helpful, we could'nt get our WFi to work in our room when we got there and when we told one of the staff she immediately offered to come up and sort it out which she did, they were all very pleasant .
The other thing is this hotel has a very small car park but there is a public pay and display right behind the hotel s no problem.
There is a Llandovery museum n the hotel which is very small not much there really but adds to the ambiance.


All in all a very pleasant weekend with a lovely atmosphere, a true Welsh welcome.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which was above the restaurant and one night there was a 'do' on and we were k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess59Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed on a Sunday night. Initial impressions very good, with very well presented room in character building. Downside was that directly over lounge area and people nattering in there till well past midnight. Old building so little sound proofing and ended up having to go down and ask for some silence. This at 1.00a.m.
Had considered stopping for 2 nights but all this changed my mind. Pity really.

Room Tip: Just ensure not above bar / lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked with late rooms. Very lucky as we ended up with the Nelson room.Food was brilliant. Room very clean with plenty of room. Staff very polite and friendly. Couldn't of asked for a better place to stay. Already waiting to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doidge09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our room at the hotel was of excellent quality with a comfertable bed and all very clean: the bathroom was of a very good size with some nice shower gel to use. We ate at the hotel and the food at dinner was very good; the cocktails are well woth trying. The only downside was that the service at dinner was very slow with long gaps between courses and items not cleared away. Breakfast service was very good and very attentive with some interesing choices on the menu. Overall a very lovely place to stay which was very quiet when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is a lovely old building which has been restored beautifully. The rooms are a wonderful size and spotless!
The bar area is cosy with a large open fire and big leather sofas where you can relax with a good wine.
The staff can not do enough for you, without being pushy and we were made to feel very welcome.
We booked last minute and got a great deal on our room and it really was a lovely stay.
You need to go just for the food!! The evening meal was gorgeous and the breakfast menu was fantastic.

Room Tip: We booked a 'best room' and it was worth the little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Castle Hotel certainly is a great choice if you plan to spend some time in the Brecon Beacons National Park. It is a stylish old hotel with nice and spacious rooms and extremely comfortable beds. The food in the hotel restaurant is good as well, especially the hot breakfast (which is included in price of the accommodation) was delicious. The stuff was fine, some of them not completely friendly, but nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
20.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
17.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing