We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, perfect accommodation, perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penrhyn Barn

Penrhyn Barn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views. Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views.
Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Penrhyn pool leads you into a spetacular gorge
Prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen
Beautifully fitted family bathroom with whirlpool bath
Sit by the river, fish or enjoy a glass of wine, take in the scenery and chillout.
The comfortable lounge with woodburner
The gorge at Penrhyn
Relax, entertain friends and family. Enjoy
penrhyn pool and gorge
A salmon caught in Penrhyn pool
Somewhere over the rainbow, the views from the back of the barn
Explore the Carmbrian Mountains from the doorstep
The local pub is within walking distance, sample their real ales.
Is this the lake district? No it's better, it's Lynne Brianne and there's no crowds.
Carreg Cennen castle is only a short drive
The river Towy at Penrhyn.
The river Towy at Penrhyn
Sit at the top of the waterfall and take in the view
Bluebells above the gorge
family fishing at beautiful Dinas just up the valley
stride off into the hills around Penrhyn
Breath in the fresh mountain air, it's clean enough for the lichen to grow.
magical nights by the river just outside your bedroom window
enjoy a round of golf
inviting forestry walks from the doorstep
Have fun at Pembrey Park
amazing beaches all within an hours easy drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank C
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, perfect accommodation, perfect hosts.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a great family holiday, 6 adults and two children, plenty of room and freedom to enjoy ourselves without restriction. The Barn is a faboulus restoration, beautifully appointed and just perfect for us. All facilities were well thought out , the accomadtion was perfectly prepared for us on arrival and we had a generous welcome by our hosts.
This is a location for isolation, no phones or internet to interupt our enjoyment, it is a hideaway place to lose yourselves in great countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: freedom to enjoy ourselves without rules and restrictions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mushDerby
derby
2 reviews
“Beautiful barn conversion in a stunning location”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

When our family first walked through the door the first word was 'wow!' which was then followed by further 'wows' as we were shown further around this beautiful barn conversion.
The views from the bedrooms of the surrounding country side are absolutley wonderful.
The barn easily housed the ten of us, plus the baby, and it was warm and comfortable even before we lit the log stove.
The hosts, Mic & Jacquie, always ensured that we had everything we needed during our stay and for going that extra mile (Thank you!).
We're certain that we will visit again and wouldn't hestiate to recommend this holiday let to anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable barn in the beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly atmosphere and beautiful surroundings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah K
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Idyllic Country retreat”
Reviewed 27 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third stay, that must speak volumes in itself, plus are revisiting in August...can't wait. It is always a warm welcome from Mick, Jackie and Tess the dog.
Beautifully cleaned to a high standard with little extras to give the finishing touches.
The surroundings are breathtaking whether you want a long hike or a leisurely stroll along the waters edge that flows through. Local amenities to make your stay comfortable with lovely pubs for your lunch break and takeaways to get your mouths watering.
What more can you want from a relaxing break!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner for cosy evenings with a glass of wine.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hell077
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely nice, peaceful, homely Barn”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Def would recommend this cottage to everyone!!! It was very clean, had everything you needed and in a ideal country location tucked away in the middle of some amazing landscape. Great for a large family or group or friends. Lots of space as there are 5 bedrooms. Lots of amazing walks in the area.
You don't have to walk far to experience the landscape as its as its all in the back garden. Not too far from nearest town and other amazing views.
Mic and Jaquie were wonderful hosts...but their dog Tess stole our hearts..
We had a friend that was not dog friendly..but Tess was good to her.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOB33
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Accommodation, fantastic friendly hosts, will definitely be returning here!”
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We have just returned from a great week at the barn. Mic and Jacqui were the best hosts we've ever had. We have this type of break somewhere different every year, but this was the best we have had by far. The barn was lovely, the farm was idyllic, and Tess the sheepdog was so adorable that we felt like stealing her. There are lovely walks around the farm and Cwm Rhaeadr (about half a mile away) was a really nice walk. We will definitely be returning to Penrhyn Barn again and look forward to seeing Mic and Jacqui again. I would recommend the barn to anyone who wanted a peaceful holiday away from it all and a great base from which to see the local area.

Keith O'Brien.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;