We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved me from starving ...”
Review of Three Horseshoes

Three Horseshoes
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in Llandovery
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Saved me from starving ...”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Found this small fish and chip restaurant while wondering around and as I was very hungry we asked the owner if he did gluten free fish and chips ... The owner responded very positively.. but sadly not .. but as he does naked cod along with a lovely jacket potato with salad I was delighted. Then he talked about how he could cook gluten free meals with out having to invest a load of cash in a second fryer. So with his positive attitude and understanding I look forward to returning for another meal as my husbands looked lovely to me and he really enjoyed it. Also all staff were very friendly and I can see how they have a 5 star hygiene rating ... :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cracking fish and chips”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We ate in at this restaurant after recommendations. Food was fantastic and freshly cooked, neither the fish or chips were greasy and the portion sizes were generous. It is probably the best fish and chips I've had away from a seaside resort.

The service was friendly and efficient and the restaurant was clean and light. Overall a really good find that I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Navmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good little find”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

On a day out we called into Llandovery and went into The Three Horseshoes to eat, we had a welcoming greeting in this friendly and clean restaurant/take away. I had locally produced faggots, mushy peas chips and gravy. The faggots were beautiful and all was freshly cooked and good portions. My husbands had cod, peas and chips that were freshly cooked, another good portion and not in the least greasy and crisp bopper. Prices were good value and would highly recommend this eatery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stopped here and got a fish supper to take back to our B&B. After a hard days mountain biking it was just what the doctor ordered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a really nice fish & chip lunch when we stopped in Llandovery to break up a journey. Large portions, freshly cooked - and served with a smile. The only puzzle was the fact that the 'homemade tartare sauce' came in a sachet with 'Heinz' printed on it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerefordSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Horseshoes also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing