We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Ranked #7 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm & Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We found this place randomly from Tripadvisor after searching for somewhere between cardiff and swansea. Llandovery is not a town you would deliberately seek out as there are other places in Wales with more to offer, however we could not have been more pleased with our find and having never been bothered to leave a review before but felt compelled to write something to tell others what a great place to stay this is.
As we have 3 young children finding family rooms is difficult, but fortunately Penygawse was able to accommodate all of us. Included in the deal was a great breakfast and what can only be described as connoisseur coffees. Watching Allen work is like poetry in montion as he concentrates on pefecting each draw from the heads of the coffee machine.
Our 2 night stay was comfortable and you know you've got it right when you're settling the bill and you think the bargain is in your favour. Just as we left Allen drew me a double ristretto - no bitterness or aftertaste, just smooth liquid velvet reaching through the senses, Aaaah wonderful, the search is over the holy grail for the coffee junkie is in Llandovery.

Room Tip: You can easily sleep 3 kids in the double bed in the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiefree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Fantastic stay , fantastic hosts , great for the kids (9yrs old) loads to see and do in the area , I would go back just for Allan's cappuccino ! We travelled from hull for our first visit to Wales and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Called in here with my partner and his mother en route to Saundersfoot. It was lovely and clean and tastefully decorated. We all had various cakes and speciality coffees which were served by friendly staff and were totally delicious. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed last year during the heat wave in October. It was a totlly random selection and we had a lovely time. Really friendly owners lovely breakkie and coffee was lush. Bed room was nice and the bathroom was very nice. Llandovery was a lovely town and we had the best fish and chips at the place next door. Hopefully we will return some time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Penygawse is an ideal base for exploring the stunning Brecon Beacons, and Allan and Lynne are the perfect hosts. Having stayed due to work for 6 weeks I can honestly say that they create a beautiful atmosphere and will do everything to make your stay perfect. "They are way too nice to you!" was my girlfriend's most frequent quote for 6 weeks! If it's great coffee (Allan's speciality and passion), delicious breakfast, clean comfortable unique rooms in a listed building, and friendly hosts that you're after, seriously, look no further.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafyddloughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed 4 nights in Penygawse. The rooms are basic and the building dated, but it's clean and it works well. The owners are very friendly and helpful, more than one could ask for, and that makes a big difference. Food was good but the coffee, free to guests in the cafe downstairs, is exceptional, very fine indeed. I thought it was good value for money and I'll try to stay there on my next visit too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emrystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We hadn't planned to stay here, but my girlfriend took ill with a nasty bug.

They were very accommodating and kind.

We had the family room which was spacious and nicely renovated.

I had the breakfast the next morning and it was up there with the best.

The entrance at the back of the building is a bit of a strange set up and yes maybe a little messy.

BUT l simply can't understand the person that gave them a 1. It is unfair and wrong.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cravendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#1 of 5 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms

Property: Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Address: 12 High Street, Llandovery SA20 0PU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penygawse is a grade II listed Georgian townhouse in the ancient market town of Llandovery. All 7 bedrooms are recently refurbished and we have a mix of bath and shower en-suites to suit all tastes. Breakfast is substantial and served in our Tea Rooms along with 'barista' made lattes, cappuccinos and teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing