We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Nearby Hotels
Castle Hotel(Llandovery)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Inn(Llandovery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Bear With Rooms(Llandovery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
59
11
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
11
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot chocolatebiscuitscar parkplenty of hot watermiddle of townrecommend staying heretea and coffee facilitieswide choicesingle roomwould definitely stay here againnext morningfirst classsecond to nonecream teaone night staylovely breakfastlovely place
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Peygawse is a clean and comfortable B&B, with its own excellent cafe, centrally located in a historic and listed building in the beautiful and historic town on the western edge of theBrecon Beacons. Hosts Allan and Lynn are very friendly and helpful and run a clean, quiet and well appointed B&B. The tourist information available in the room was very helpful in planning our stay, with plenty to explore in the area. Despite being located right on the main road, and our room being at the front of the B&B there was virtually no traffic noise in the room.
The breakfasts are excellent and the coffee is undoubtedly the best we have ever had anywhere in the UK. If you are Australian then this is the only place you will find that can make a "flat white" that is worth drinking ! We can also recommend the Castle Inn, just a 4 minute walk away, for a seriously good meal - well above your average "pub".
All in all a most enjoyable experience and we look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Our room was very good but it was on the top floor and we had a a lot of luggage (travelling for 6 weeks). The stairs are steep so if you have a lot of luggage ask for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Allan and Lynn very friendly, made us feel at ease straight away. We were made very welcome. Room was a double with en-suite bathroom, a bit small but adequate. Very clean throughout. Loved the decor and furnishings. Plenty of things to do leaflets and reading material in the room. The food was excellent with large portions. I am gluten and lactose intolerant, but there were plenty of alternatives. My husband could not eat the large cooked breakfast, so went for the smaller portion the next day. Good location. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ells57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at Penygawse for a few weeks. It was extremely comfortable and clean with spacious rooms. They cook a breakfast for champions as well as a top class coffee shop. I would definitely visit again given the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed for the sheep festival. Great hosts nothing was too much trouble, rooms were small but clean;great location right on in the middle of Llandovery and probably the best breakfast I've had in a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DdraigCymraegSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My friend was fascinated with the evidence of history in the slanted doors. They have done a fantastic job though making a listed building comfortable and pretty. We had the twin room at the top of the hotel, long and narrow. They had provided a nice little table and stool so we could create our own little "lounge" to have our tea at the end of the day. Everything was comfortable and the location was fantastic. I wish we had stayed more than two nights.

Breakfast was amazing! Really good food and quite the treat of choices for coffee drinks. Yum.

Well located for everything in Llandovery. We enjoyed the craft shops, the castle ruins, the visitor center (has a nice historical display upstairs) and the nearby shops and restaurants. As it was raining and we were on foot, it was great that everything was within a few blocks!

Room Tip: I liked our room on the street side. It wasn't too noisy and we had a bit of a view to the green fields beyond the town as well as the pretty colored shops across the street.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews