We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for Xmas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Ranked #7 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closed for Xmas!!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

In response to previous reviewer, the cafe closes every winter for refurbishment & family holidays - they re-open on 7th January as they state on the big sign in the window. We are regulars in the cafe and wait patiently for them to come back from holidays to enjoy what is undoubtedly the best coffee for miles around.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in early June and would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anybody visiting the area.

Our room was quiet, small and cosy but not restrictively small, the bed was comfortable and the shower had consistent pressure and warmth. We had three nights of great sleep and felt relaxed and refreshed.

The guest house provides a range of complimentary toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits & hot chocolate in the bedrooms along with freshly brewed coffee or tea downstairs in the tea rooms, we thought this was a really nice offer and the coffee was delicious. Allan prides himself on serving a good coffee and his dedication shows.

A range of breakfast items are available and the cooked breakfast uses good quality ingredients and sets you up for a day exploring the local area. A small car park is located at the rear of the guest house.

The family who run the guest house are friendly & welcoming, offering advice and local knowledge along with great cakes in their tea room (charged as extra to room rate).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Penygawse is a real find in the lovely little town of Llandovery on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Centuries old building that has had a wide variety of uses over time, before being converted into a B & B by current owners, Allan and Lynn. Allan is a highly qualified barista, so if you're looking for great coffee in the UK, then Penygawse is your place.

Rooms are extremely comfortable - our room was quite small, but no more so than many other B & Bs. The bathroom was excellent - particularly the "adult sized" shower. Only problem is that wifi doesn't work upstairs - the downside of a building with very thick walls! But, that just means logging in downstairs while you have a coffee.

Lynn recommended that we have dinner at The Castle Hotel - good call, see our review.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Arrived with friends to a very friendly welcome from Allan & Lynne. Warm and comfortable room with huge bed (room 2) great when one of you is 6'4"! Great breakfast, huge choice just what you needed to start the return leg of a 220 mile trip. Will use again and next time try and stay for two nights so we can enjoy more of the local scenery.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a great bed for husband who is 6'4 made a nice change not to have feet hanging out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Peygawse is a clean and comfortable B&B, with its own excellent cafe, centrally located in a historic and listed building in the beautiful and historic town on the western edge of theBrecon Beacons. Hosts Allan and Lynn are very friendly and helpful and run a clean, quiet and well appointed B&B. The tourist information available in the room was very helpful in planning our stay, with plenty to explore in the area. Despite being located right on the main road, and our room being at the front of the B&B there was virtually no traffic noise in the room.
The breakfasts are excellent and the coffee is undoubtedly the best we have ever had anywhere in the UK. If you are Australian then this is the only place you will find that can make a "flat white" that is worth drinking ! We can also recommend the Castle Inn, just a 4 minute walk away, for a seriously good meal - well above your average "pub".
All in all a most enjoyable experience and we look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Our room was very good but it was on the top floor and we had a a lot of luggage (travelling for 6 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Allan and Lynn very friendly, made us feel at ease straight away. We were made very welcome. Room was a double with en-suite bathroom, a bit small but adequate. Very clean throughout. Loved the decor and furnishings. Plenty of things to do leaflets and reading material in the room. The food was excellent with large portions. I am gluten and lactose intolerant, but there were plenty of alternatives. My husband could not eat the large cooked breakfast, so went for the smaller portion the next day. Good location. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ells57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at Penygawse for a few weeks. It was extremely comfortable and clean with spacious rooms. They cook a breakfast for champions as well as a top class coffee shop. I would definitely visit again given the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandovery hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#2 of 5 in Llandovery
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bear With Rooms
Bear With Rooms
#4 of 5 in Llandovery
3 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms

Property: Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Address: 12 High Street, Llandovery SA20 0PU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penygawse is a grade II listed Georgian townhouse in the ancient market town of Llandovery. All 7 bedrooms are recently refurbished and we have a mix of bath and shower en-suites to suit all tastes. Breakfast is substantial and served in our Tea Rooms along with 'barista' made lattes, cappuccinos and teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing