We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Ranked #7 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the guest house during a walking holiday. The room came with everything you would need, including toiletries. The breakfast was delicious with particularly good poached eggs. The owners were warm and accommodating. A fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for duration of Royal Welsh Show at Builth Wells. Stayed in a single room which had everything one needed- bottled water, quality biscuits, coffee both caff and decaff, tv and a fabulous shower.
The breakfast was excellent- could only manage the small one each day as it was very generous. Lovely coffee too.
Very welcoming hosts and lovely young local staff waiting on in the morning.
Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As guest houses go this has got to be one of the best I have every stayed in nice roomy clean rooms fantastic breakfast, bottled water in the rooms no tatty bed sheets here all top quality. If your a coffee lover you need to stay here the owner Allan, is a and highly qualified barista and is very passionate about it. I stayed here with 7 other lads all on motorcycles which we parked off road round the back of shop so felt our bikes were safe. If you are ever in the area but not stopping go to the shop it will be worth it. P.S thnks to Lynn for a lovely breakfast the guy who wanted the runny egg got stick about this all the way home. T
Thanks guys
Pete (the greedy Bald one)

Room Tip: try in the indian just up the road very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbikerharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

In response to previous reviewer, the cafe closes every winter for refurbishment & family holidays - they re-open on 7th January as they state on the big sign in the window. We are regulars in the cafe and wait patiently for them to come back from holidays to enjoy what is undoubtedly the best coffee for miles around.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Coffee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in early June and would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anybody visiting the area.

Our room was quiet, small and cosy but not restrictively small, the bed was comfortable and the shower had consistent pressure and warmth. We had three nights of great sleep and felt relaxed and refreshed.

The guest house provides a range of complimentary toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits & hot chocolate in the bedrooms along with freshly brewed coffee or tea downstairs in the tea rooms, we thought this was a really nice offer and the coffee was delicious. Allan prides himself on serving a good coffee and his dedication shows.

A range of breakfast items are available and the cooked breakfast uses good quality ingredients and sets you up for a day exploring the local area. A small car park is located at the rear of the guest house.

The family who run the guest house are friendly & welcoming, offering advice and local knowledge along with great cakes in their tea room (charged as extra to room rate).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Penygawse is a real find in the lovely little town of Llandovery on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Centuries old building that has had a wide variety of uses over time, before being converted into a B & B by current owners, Allan and Lynn. Allan is a highly qualified barista, so if you're looking for great coffee in the UK, then Penygawse is your place.

Rooms are extremely comfortable - our room was quite small, but no more so than many other B & Bs. The bathroom was excellent - particularly the "adult sized" shower. Only problem is that wifi doesn't work upstairs - the downside of a building with very thick walls! But, that just means logging in downstairs while you have a coffee.

Lynn recommended that we have dinner at The Castle Hotel - good call, see our review.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Arrived with friends to a very friendly welcome from Allan & Lynne. Warm and comfortable room with huge bed (room 2) great when one of you is 6'4"! Great breakfast, huge choice just what you needed to start the return leg of a 220 mile trip. Will use again and next time try and stay for two nights so we can enjoy more of the local scenery.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a great bed for husband who is 6'4 made a nice change not to have feet hanging out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandovery hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
455 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#2 of 13 in Llandovery
131 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms

Address: 12 High Street, Llandovery SA20 0PU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: £67 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penygawse is a grade II listed Georgian townhouse in the ancient market town of Llandovery. All 6 bedrooms are recently refurbished and we have a mix of bath and shower en-suites to suit all tastes. Breakfast is substantial and served in our Tea Rooms along with 'barista' made lattes, cappuccinos and teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing