We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Llandovery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Serving locally sourced, home cooked food, We strive to make a homely, warm atmosphere where real food and ales can be enjoyed. A comprehensive wine list, with many wines available by the glass is also on offer. The Royal Oak Inn also offers Bed and Breakfast. There is a garden with far reaching views across the Upper Towy Valley and real log fires.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the royal oak. What a lovely place, the room was lovely, spotless with a very comfortable bed and a lovely clean bathroom.
The surrounding area is lovely with beautiful views and lots to do.
The food is very good, and the service is very friendly.
I will definitely be returning, and would certainly recommend it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janetmpontypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Chose to eat here as it was within walking distance of our campsite. The food was very nice and cooked just right. We did not have to wait too long for the meal. The landlord was friendly and attentive, without being too overbearing. Also a really nice pint of draught cider. I think it helped that it was down hill to the campsite!

Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for your positive comments. I have to agree that the cider is good- it's proper cider, as it should be. Glad to hear that Chris looked after you. Hopefully we'll see you again this summer. Regards, Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We love it here! Traditional pub in the middle of nowhere. We came last February for my birthday and returned again this year... and we have already booked for next year! Our large double room has been tastefully redecorated. The bed is very comfortable with cosy bedding. Tv and coffee making facilities (Cath Kitson tea cups) and free internet.
Vodafone does not work here- which is a result! A chance to get away from it all!
The view from the window provides stunning scenery. Going in February means we experience wet, cold weather but we have already made a pact to return in the Spring, Summer and Autumn to experience the different seasons and changes in colour. A traditional, friendly pub with a log fire and a wood burning stove, The food is excellent, large choice and really tasty locally sourced food. The portions are large which unfortunately meant we couldnt fit in the puddings! Last year we sampled the local cheese board which was so yummy we bought some cheese to take home. Excellent choices at breakfast and the local bacon and fresh eggs taste like food as we remember from childhood days.
Very friendly pub. Excellent value all round.
A good base from which to explore Southern Wales.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments- it is really appreciated. I must admit, I love this area during the winter, even when it is cold and rainy as the views are so interesting, but the best part of the winter in Rhandirmwyn is the different winter beers and seasonal food available too!
We look forward to seeing you next year on your birthday,

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Had a nice meal in a nice traditional pub setting with a great atmosphere to bring in 2014, the service was good and everybody was very friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrewhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review- it is always heartening to know our efforts are appreciated by our guests. I have to admit, New Years Eve is always a great event here, even if I don't always get to join in!
Regards, Rachel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Love this pub! It's a friendly, welcoming traditional pub with a great homely atmosphere. The landlord and landlady are extremely helpful,friendly and accommodating, their staff are friendly and very helpful and the service is excellent and the food is great. We've been back many times and our son asked to go there for his 18th, he has special needs and Rachel, the landlady made his day when she came out with his dessert ablaze with candles singing happy birthday! Would highly recommend this pub to anyone wanting a home from home,friendly, comfortable environment in which to enjoy a well thought out menu, which focuses on locally sourced produce and that is always well presented and delicious. 10 out of 10 every time !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gjtjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We always appreciate feedback and it is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family. Hopefully we'll welcome you all again soon.
Many thanks,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing