We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special (Elidir trail)”

Four Waterfalls Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Special (Elidir trail)”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

OK this is not an easy walk for your average person but nor is it very difficult. For a lot of the way it is pretty easy but the path itself is bit tricky with slippery mud ( even after the driest summer for a while) and tree roots designed to trip you up. The last part up to the fourth waterfall is pretty steep for the occasional walker. It is all worth it however. The falls each have their own character and the walk itself by the side of the river is magical. I was lucky enough to be there on a really sunny day. It took me 5 hours but I spent a lot of time at each waterfall with tripod and camera. I guess if you dont hang about it is a 2 hour walk but that would be a waste - take your time and just look. Beware the stones - especially at waterfall 3 - are very slippery. Lots of parents were taking little ones. There is a public toilet at the start opposite The Angel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    46
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning waterfalls”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Not too taxing, but the waterfalls were stunning. Some of the paths around the waterfalls were slippery and there are quite a lot of steps.

Well worth the effort.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
452 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Don't miss it! It's special.Hike in, it's easy.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A great hike, waterfalls, terrific scenery. Walk behind the last waterfall - it's an experience. Beautiful to hike all along the river to each waterfall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Challenging!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

According to the AA guide "Along the Waterfalls" the level of difficulty of this walk is "Easy". This is utter rubbish! The walk is long and very steep in places. My wife and I are fairly fit and were exhausted after the 2 hours it took to visit just two of the waterfalls. That said, they are rather special and the whole area is delightfully tranquil. £4 for the car park might deter some people from continuing with this excursion.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LANGFIELD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous day out!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we loved the walk, took so many photos of the river and the spectacular waterfalls! beware alot of the paths are very rocky, some bits quite steep but totally worth it. remember £4 for the car park at cwm porth!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie87x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Waterfalls Walk also viewed

Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Llanwrda, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Four Waterfalls Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing