We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Hafan y Bugail
(Shepherd's Haven)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hafan y Bugail
(Shepherd's Haven)
Craig y Foelallt and the valley leading up to Cwmbrefi One bed fully open with the other closed up as a setee.  Can be set as one double or 2 single beds.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Hafan y Bugail
(Shepherd's Haven)
Craig y Foelallt and the valley leading up to Cwmbrefi
One bed fully open with the other closed up as a setee.  Can be set as one double or 2 single beds.
The wooburning stove
Your kitchen area
Your shower/toilet area
Small woodburner stove in the kitchen area.
Olchfa Rhysgog. This pool was used to wash sheep before shearing.
Road through Cwm Brefi leading up to the Cambrian mountains.
View of the nearby village of Llanddewi Brefi
What you can expect to see from the Hut
View from the other Hut window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanddewi Brefi, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
G6772BCst...
Ammanford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing paradise”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We always look forward to our stay at Shepherds Haven to re-charge our batteries due to our busy lives. John and Mary are model hosts and very helpful wishing to make our stay special. The location is idyllic and enables a proper chill out. We always feel refreshed after our stay at Hafan y Bugail. Can't wait to return in 2 months time for our next chillax. Hut is comfortable and cosy and all facilities are available either within hut itself or annex. We find John and Mary very attentive without being invasive. A big thank you to Mary and John we are so glad we found you and your accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Its always a pleasure having this couple here to stay. They come to relax and enjoy themselves, and it is obvious they do as they keep coming back.
Looking forward to your next stay.
Thank you very much.
John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farhash
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place! John and Mary were excellent hosts. We were greeted by an idyllic scene , peaceful atmosphere ; best place to relax close to nature .We would love to visit again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2018
Farhana and her husband were model guests and we thoroughly enjoyed their company. They left the hut and the annex spotlessly clean.
We could not have wished for better guests ad look forward to meeting up again, possibly later on in the season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee T
1 review
“Beautiful, Picturesque, Lovely Hosts!”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We originally booked to stay at Hafan y Bugail for 2 nights, but as soon as we arrived we knew we had to book a 3rd night.

John & Mary were truly wonderful. We couldn't have asked for better hosts from start to finish. When we arrived, they invited us in to their home and made us feel welcome and gave us a full tour of all the facilities, and we were extremely impressed with the attention to detail. Having access to the annex was an extra bonus.

The Shepherds hut was incredible. It was extremely comfy and we were amazed with the craftsmanship and hard work which had gone into building this. It was so nice to sit outside and have our breakfast whilst taking in the beauty of the surrounding area and wildlife.

The location was ideal and the local village was only a short walking distance away. The local people were very friendly and had some amazing stories to share with us.

The next town Tregaron was only a 5 minute drive away and if you didn't want to drive there was a bus option. There were also a variety of scenic walks for walkers of various abilities.

We felt spoilt and we can't wait to make a return visit in the autumn.

Thank you John & Mary for a wonderful break.

Lee & Maria :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
On our part we could not have wished for better guests - they left the place spotlesly clean. Lee and Maria were friendly, lovely couple, and we look forward very much for their return in the Autumn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emrys l
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“M”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

An absolutely amazing weekend break. Everything you need, tranquil setting and within easy reach of all you need. John and Mary were the most amazing hosts and really made you feel so welcome and relaxed. Highly recommended and we'll be back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind words - it was a glowing review and we were so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.

John and Mary Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect little break away”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Shepherd's Haven last year and it was perfect! we were the first people to stay there and it completely exceeded our expectations.
The hut had kettle, toaster, plates, fridge, glasses etc, A lovely little log burner, electric sockets, the beds were so comfortable.
There was plenty of outdoor seating, a wood burner outside and also a lovely BBQ.

Nearest shops / pub are about a 5 minute drive - we didn't attempt to walk as it was raining but would recommend.

There was also access to a shower, toilet etc in an annex of the house of which we were provided with a key for our stay

The hosts John and Mary were perfect! they could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a chilled weekend away and we will definitely be revisiting!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessicasm...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I absolutely loved my Glamping experience at Hafan y Bugail. The accomdation was nice and cosy with comfortable beds. The owners Mary and John made the experience that extra bit special as they were the perfect Hosts. They were very welcoming, friendly and made us feel like we were at home. The breakfast was lovely and only cost £5 per person which is a bargain. I would defiantly stay here again and for £25 per person per night, its a bargain. If you want a nice relaxing weekend away this is the place to go and only 40 drive to the beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for such a glowing review - we enoyed having you here to stay
and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

John & Mary Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarajade2...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend the sheppards hut to people looking for a relaxing getaway. I couldnt have thought of a better place to experience 'glamping.' the hut was cosy and just the right size for 2 people. We had fun tending to our woodburning fire inside the hut which kept the inside lovley and warm. The views from the hut and surrounding areas are breathtaking, simply sitting on the balcony and taking it all in was amazing. The facilities provided were so much better than expected and defiantly took away the dirty uncomfortable feeling that you would get with normal camping. The owners, Mary and John are lovley and were more than happy to help us with any questions we had and were set on ensuring we had the most compfortable stay possible. Although the hut seems close to their house we couldnt have asked for more privacy and when we did see them it was nice to have a chat. I couldnt have asked for a better weekend away and will defiantly be returning in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind words an are glad that you enjoyed yor stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

John & Mary Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing