We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, friendly staff”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
penarth
Level Contributor
501 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is my second visit to the Castle restaurant, this time reluctantly as I'd not enjoyed either my food or the service first time round earlier this year. However, I went with the majority vote of the group I was travelling with and had such a pleasant surprise. Friendly waiting staff who were attentive but not in your face, and delicious food. I went for the 2 course option £15 of field mushrooms with goats cheese followed by sea bass with veg - boiled new potatoes, carrots and broccoli. All beautifully cooked and presented. I succumbed to a dessert £5.50 of chocolate cheesecake which again was really good. I will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    34
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
22
73
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

An absolute wonderful long weekend at the Castle in Aberaeron over the August Bank Holiday, so much going on in the town. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were top drawer. Such a convenient location for a hotel for the harbour and beach walks as well as the Aeron river. A good breakfast served every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter130391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Drove down to Aberaeron and managed to get a room in the Castle The room was clean and the power shower was a bonus very refreshing we slept very well in spite of the weekend being busy We found the hotel very relaxing the breakfast served is well cooked and the restaurant in the evening serves very tasty food

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed on the second floor, in a room called 'Non'.
The room was clean and nicely appointed.
It was a warm evening and the sash window would not open, as there was no other room ventilation it was a very hot night not very conducive for sleeping.
Woken at 5 by the room next door ,they were talking.
The walls were so thin that it wasn't possible to go back to sleep because of the noise emanating from the room next door.
The shower had two settings either scolding hot or very hot, so the best we could manage was a wash down using the sink.
Breakfast was nice...
We pointed these problems out to the duty manager and asked him to pass on my phone number to the owner...
I can't remember the last time I left a hotel exhausted and not feeling completely clean!
I'm still waiting over a month later for the proprieter to return my call.
It's a shame as its obvious they have invested a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great Location, Really welcoming, lovely atmosphere, excellent lunch menu, we had the lobster and chips and it was to die for, would definitely go out my way to go there again and try the rest of the menu!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrietdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is in a fantastic location and really enjoyed our stay. The pub in the castle hotel had a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and drinks were reasonably priced. However, check in and out to the hotel was quite disorganised and the room was not as clean as expected. Found a few hairs in the shower and on the bedding. The room was also very noisy and we could hear the heavy doors slamming from other rooms. However, did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were so impressed with the menu, sadly it would appear rather ambitious and beyond the capabilities of the kitchen staff.

We questioned the waiting staff about portion sizes re: ordering for our children. Her response was that she had no idea how much our children eat, so couldn't comment! Would it be wrong to expect staff to know their menu and portion sizes?!

Our starters arrived, and we were asked if we'd like salt & pepper with it??? Surely such condiments would normally be on the table?!

The food was average. The fish options seem to be their strength, although the portion sizes are less than generous. Salad bowls are served with everything, seasonal veggies and boiled potatoes. The basics are there, the more ambitious options need to be scaled down! Stick to what you're good at!!!

Ultimately the icing on the cake was the pudding choices. Very delicious lemon & lime cheesecake and Baileys creme brûlée- both very generous and the best part of our experience. However I have never been offered ice cream or cream with a cream brûlée?!

I really do think this could be a superb place. The menu needs to be carefully considered, the visitors book suggests as much- do the staff read it?? Previous guests had suggested that foid had merely come straight from the freezer, via the microwave to the table!
The cheap paper napkins should be replaced with linen, condiments should be available on tables for guests to use as they please and most importantly the toilet should have the basics hand soap and
towels at least!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamamia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
217 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
58 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing