We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just spent the weekend at the Castle Hotel, Aberaeron. It happened to be a rugby international day (Wales v Scotland) and the atmosphere in the downstairs bar was great, not too packed either so you did not have to wait ages to get served at the bar, yet plenty to get the singing going!
This is was not my first visit to the Castle Hotel. I have stayed in their tastefully decorated rooms and eaten in the restaurant as well as the bar on several occasions. I can highly recommend the steaks as mine was cooked to perfection. I took a peep at their Mothering Sunday menu which was so inviting, I think I will be back there before the month is out. Thanks for the warm welcome, see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 764Delw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    36
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
26
77
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Recently spent 24 hours in Aberaeron and stayed at Castle Hotel. Accommodation was ideal - well appointed rooms, clean and well-cared for. The food was enjoyed by all and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, even coping with our different demands for breakfast. Thank you Castle Hotel team! See you again soon we hope.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CacksieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

i went for an evening meal last night at the Castle with a friend on crutches and .as the restaurant was upstairs, we were accomodated in the down stairs bar where the french chef even came down to check on u personally.The starters, mains and desserts were delightful , presented well and tasted fantastic.we all had different things and on trying them all, i was very impressed
The creme brulee dessert was the best i have ever tasted(and ive tasted a few) and the service was excellent.i thoroughly recommend this restaurant and look forward to returning and hopefully eating upstairs next time

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a wonderful place! The food in the restaurant was absolutely wonderful too. I was here on a business trip but would love to come back on holiday. It felt nice as there were other business people in the hotel and it was very cosy on a cold night. I think a winter stay was actually a good time to go, had the town to myself for lots of lovely walks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant1974Greenhithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was one of a handful of guests staying at the Castle mid week stay on business. Check in was in the attractive (but empty) bar on the ground floor and I had the Dwynwen double room which was very nicely decorated and furnished, this was fine for me alone but would have been a little small for a couple with two suitcases. As some other reviewers have mentioned the rooms do seem to be rather too hot, I turned the night storage heater's output down several times but still woke up in the night because I was too warm. Unfortunately the attractive ensuite shower room was too cold, so the best solution was to leave the ensuite door wide open to try and distribute the heat between the two spaces. The adjoining roads are not that busy and the windows suppressed what noise there was but I could hear guests in the adjoining rooms - not excessively so but enough to notice.
Dinner and breakfast were served in the first floor restaurant, again an attractive room and offering an appealing menu with lots of fish and game specials. I went for coquille st jacques, pheasant in red wine and tequila creme brulee, £33 incl a large glass of red. The chef is french and the food was surprisingly good, so worth seeking out the Castle for dinner, even if you don't need, or want, to stay over. I had the kippers for breakfast and can recommend them too.
After the Castle and Y Talbot in Tregaron I am beginning to think there are good reasons to take a foody tour around Ceredigion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Have stayed here before and could not wait to return to visit my relations over Xmas and this was my first choice of hotels within the area again I really enjoyed my stay the rooms are well decorated in a modern style without being over the top and very clean and comfortable the breakfast was really well presented and the hospitality very warm at a decent price could not ask for more the restaurant in the evening was very enjoyable as the whole family joined us for dinner what tasteful food overall we really enjoyed ourselves and will be returning in the. Spring keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pulborough
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Excellent local hotel. Did not stay but ate 3 times and the food was very good and plentiful.

Locals and tourists alike give the bar a great feel even in mid Jan. Sunday lunches are particularly good value. Give it a try, I bet it gets really busy in summer even though the "in set" may go elsewhere?

Room Tip: Sorry did not stay but heard good reports
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snafuPulborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
721 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
20.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
804 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing