We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful which room you have in hot weather”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
577 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Be careful which room you have in hot weather”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Only an average for this return visit to the Castle. I still enjoyed my evening meal and breakfasts but the room I was in was very hot and opening the window just meant that I was constantly woken up by the intermittent heavy vehicles that passed by on the A487. I hope that there are quieter rooms facing Market Street.
Noise from adjoining rooms was less of an issue this time although the bedroom door rattled all night with the minimal breeze coming through the window and I resorted to piling up pillows and bedding on the chair against the door handle to reduce the rattling.
Hot weather is exceptional and I'd be happy to go back to the Castle in milder temperatures but after two nights of interrupted poor sleep I'll avoid it until they arrive.

Room Tip: During hot weather, I recommend avoiding Branwen and any other bedrooms right on the corner of Marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    34
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
22
72
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very central and the rooms although very small we're well furnished clean comfortable and modern. Our only problem was the heat, the rooms had no fans or air con but I am sure in normal temperatures the lovely open French windows would be ok. We took my parents and shared an adjacent doorway, if u are coming with friends or family this worked well. A little let down was that they didn't change the towels or replenish the tea and coffee. In the book however it did say you could ask for more but when paying for four star it would be nice that it's done. The bar downstairs is pleasant and the waitresses we encountered were all friendly! The polish lady in particular the most customer focused and friendly member we came across! There was one bar man who wasn't so friendly when closing up one evening! We were sat outside instead of making conversation he made us feel as if he was asking us to leave! It hadn't reached ten! He had also given me a terrible look earlier that evening for popping in to use the ladies possibly not realising I was a resident! It's a great spot to people watch as there are a few tables and chairs on the street which we used a lot! Breakfast was ok , choice of cooked and able to make to order! The cooked was delicious and just the right amount! The fruit and cereal choice wasn't great and we were left both days wanting more hot drinks with no body around to ask! However the restaurant was relaxing clean and the fresh produce used good. All round this was a good hotel, a little over priced for the odd lack of detail, but if your staying in aberaeron and want something central a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dring123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we were being shown to our room we were told the hotel would be holding a party with loud music. Concerned that I had to get up early, I was assured ours was a quiet room. It was a hot night and later on when the music, spilling out onto the street through open windows, ramped up yet again we found we couldn't fully close the sash window in our room. I went down to complain that I couldn't sleep and ask if we could have a refund/move to another room with a window that closed; but before I could finish the manageress grabbed and twisted my wrist and told me "she didn't care if I could sleep as they were having a party and her mother was dying". I assume that these are both rare events, but I do not think that this allows for physical assault of a customer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend. Ate both nights at the Castle. Beautiful Welsh stake and plenty of chips and veg. Great value. The room was clean and very comfertable.
I often go to Aberaeron and would consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This the 3rd time I have stayed here and I can only say that the standard is first class the staff were very helpful and efficient the food in the restaurant in the evening was truly amazing the breakfast in the morning was very tasty with local bacon and sausage and the rooms were very clean what more can I say can't wait to return later in the year

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

At about 1545 hrs on Tuesday, 10th June, 2014, me wife and I visited the Castle Hotel - our intention being to have a drink or two as we were too early to catch our return coach. We entered the ground floor bar - my wife say down and I approached the bar. There were three customers in the bar at the time (hatdly busy). The barmaid was washing cups - she had obviously seen me approach the bar but she made no attempt to serve me. I waited a few minutes and in this time another customer entered the room and appoached the bar. He appeared to be a regular as the barmaid immediately stopped washing cubs and without a word being spoken she selected a glass and started to serve him. My wife and I left the premises in disgust. I am not used to being ignored by bar staff when waiting to be served nor will I tololerate such poor service. I have relatives living in a nearby village and we are oftem in the area. WE WILL NOT, HOWEVER BE VISTING THE Castle Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castle05, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Mr H we are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience in our bar.

Looking into your complaint we spoke to the team member working at the time and she stated that she was washing cups as you came to the bar, she said she turned to you telling you that she would be with you in a minute. She finished washing the last couple of cups, dried her hands and as she walked over to you she asked you what you wanted but got no response so proceeded to replenish the drink of someone who was already drinking in the bar. At this point you started shouting about the excessive length of time you had been waiting; she attempted to explain that she had asked you what you wanted to no avail as you were in the process of leaving the building with confused wife in tow.

On reviewing the CCTV we can confirm that you arrived at the bar at 15.49 and 58 seconds the bartender was washing cups, as you came to the bar she turned to acknowledge you and finished what she had in her hands before drying them. She looks and walks in your direction and picks up an empty glass from the bar. At this point the CCTV shows you walk away at 15.50 and 43 seconds making your total stay in our establishment a whole ……. 45 seconds.

We do hope that you spend a little more time with us in the future to give us the opportunity to show you our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for only one night with family, and we recieved a good welcome .We had evening meal which we all enjoyed the steaks were lovely. Next morning full Welsh breakfast , whats not to like .Had a great time in Aberaeron very picturesque, , definitely be returning .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineD75197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 11 in Aberaeron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing