We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge disappointment”
Review of Monachty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monachty
Ranked #10 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Will start with the only positives, comfy bed , friendly bar staff and the location. Booked this Hotel for NYE, expecting to enjoy a meal and drink during the evening. On arrival was shocked at how grubby the whole interior was,uninviting with filthy carpets, sticky tables and glasses. The room had no sea view as was promised, was small, dark with stained carpet. The shower was a shower in name only, with a trickle of intermittent hot/ cold water.
Unfortunately as it was NYE we were unable to get a table to eat anywhere else at short notice, so arrived at 8pm to eat in the restaurant . We were the only people there!! The food was dreadful, as was the breakfast, which was swimming in oil and in edible . All in all a miserable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helengol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    70
    35
    23
    17
See reviews for
39
96
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked the accommodation on the phone and visited the web site prior to the call, big mistake!
We asked for a room with a sea view and was assured a nice view to the estuary, when we arrived on 31st December 2013 we were given room three with an incredible view of a wall across the lane (not happy) the room was clean enough to be fair.
The shower/toilet had no extraction installed, a necessity in a room with no window. Saying we had a shower was in name only as the water either scalded you froze you and you had to toss a coin if the water was functional, if you stayed more than one night it is of no use!
A table was booked for food, of which was very fatty and over cooked (tuff) that was the gammon steak, my Partner had chilli con carnie which was very dry for a moist mince sauce dish with rice in clumps.
The premises needs a makeover and complete updating, these premises are part of the Brains pub chain, of which we have used other establishments associated we this chain and found them excellent in every way.
This accommodation falls we below the standards of other Brains locations we have stayed at, and could be a very sort after location, if similar attention to detail was taken for example as the Penwig a few miles away.

Room Tip: Do not book room Three if you want a view, unless you like white walls and fire exits!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberaeron hotels

New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We walk the coastal path when we can. Often our biggest problem is finding somewhere that doesn't mind our dog. On our last walk (from New Quay to Aberaeron) we were thrilled to find that the 'Monachty' allowed our dog in the bar area. The lady behind the bar was very pleasant, the beer was fine and we sat next to a real fire and ate a very nice meal. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarnesfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Pleasant and friendly pub with rooms, close to harbour and free car park. Exceptionally good value, with helpful staff. Sociable bar. Very good breakfast, cooked to order and with quality ingredients. It would put to shame the 'buffet breakfasts' at many four star establishments.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanseaexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault this super, friendly harbour side pub and B and B.Lovely comfy room,happy friendly staff and belly filling breakfast! Second time we,ve stayed and already planning next trip including our little Jack Russell who has been warmly invited :-) Thank you to all at The Monachty!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Aberaeron has always been close to my heart and it was with mixed feelings when I came back but only to find it hadnt changed and the location of this pub/hotel was central to all my needs. There was no noise and the rooms where cosy and warm ideal for the bitter weather when we were there, food and drink excellent and welcoming log fire.Who could ask for anything else, oh yes just one more thing to top it off I would like to take the opportunity of thanking the manageress who was so helpful and so kind and welcoming, always smiling.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our two friends and ourselves enjoyed our weekend at the Monachty. The staff really welcoming and we particularly want to thank the chef. Our rooms overlooked the river and harbour respectively and although quite pleasant, did need a little t.l.c. Aberaeron is a beautiful little place, the Monachty is central, warm and welcoming. We probably would visit again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view and unless you particularly want a family room, choose a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eirelav57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachty

Property: Monachty
Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachty 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachty Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing