We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple room with nothing extra special”
Review of Monachty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monachty
Ranked #10 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A simple room with nothing extra special”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday as it was reasonably priced for the area given what was available at time of booking.

The location of the pub is perfect - very central in Aberaeron with free parking next door on the harbor. The staff were helpful at check in but not very enthusiastic at breakfast. The room was large but simple with a door-less wardrobe and tv stuck in a corner, and looked in need of a repaint. One side of a double bed slumped and as noted by previous reviewers the shower as a bit hit and miss. We didn't have any sort of view but hadn't expected one. The cooked breakfast was generous but I would have liked some sort of fruit to go with the cereals.

Aberaeron itself is a lovely seaside town and I'm so pleased that we chose to base ourselves here for journeys up and down the coast. Given the price for the location it was a perfectly okay stay. I'd happily stay again to save money to spend on other holiday activities but it's definitely nothing special.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    73
    38
    29
    20
See reviews for
42
103
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked one night in The Monachty just for a break away from home.
Truthfully, we decided on The Monachty because it was well located and the price was good in comparison to other hotels/B & B's in the area.
At the end of the day, you get what you pay for and that certainly was the case here. I cannot fault the staff who were attentive and very helpful. However, the room was very tired and in need of an update or even just a coat of fresh paint. It was clean though which is the main issue as far as I'm concerned. We also had a beautiful view from our window.
I'm sure the sleep quality could have been improved if the rooms were better sound proofed as the people in the next room decided to watch breakfast TV at 6:00am and we could hear the television very clearly in our room.
We ate our dinner in The Monachty which was lovely and excellent value but the breakfast, well that was tremendous! It was huge! I've never had such a large breakfast in a hotel/B & B before and I don't think I ate again that day after such a filling meal.
If you're looking for good value accommodation, then book The Monachty but if you're looking for something a bit more sumptuous, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_and_Andrew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we have visited the monachty in aberaeron 3 times in 5years and even though its change management few times and staff as a brains inn its good tavern clean rooms and enjoyed the grills and pub food tasty breakfast in all very reasonably priced a good pub
if your on a road trip like us traveling around wales aberaeron well worth visit

Room Tip: great place to visit for couples on a road trip taking in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayPhillips1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Oh my goodness I shall never eat here again.... yesterday we ordered burger and chips - burger was black on both sides, chicken and bacon with tagliatelle was a very charred chicken breast sliced up in a creamy bowl of slop with the chopped bacon rashers thrown on top, and a child's portion of lasagne which was burnt to a crisp and inedible. The salad never appeared. On a positive good chips. It's a nice pub and the beer decking is nice. It's been painted since our last visit and looks nice. Should have complained but actually I just wanted to leave on this occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sopster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberaeron hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I was initially impressed with the way the room has been furnished, but immediately the strong smoke smell disappointed.

The shower in the room was the biggest disappointment though. It was merely a drip and either scalding hot or freezing cold. You could literally hear the shower warming the water up like a kettle sounds. Once that water came out scalding, it went freezing again.

It was a al shame because it's clear that money has been spent to upgrade the place, but something as simple as a shower has really let it down.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stopped here for one night on a touring holiday of Wales

Positives: The staff are really helpful & friendly, the food & drink are very reasonably priced (& the food was very good, down to a recently hired new chef) with a huge breakfast included in the price of the room. Location is good & there is free parking right next door

Negatives: The room wasn't terribly appealing. Although generally clean there were hairs in the plughole, no mattress protector on the bed & the decor was drab, with marks & stains on the walls & a general shabbiness overall (chipped furniture etc). The shower wasn't up to much - a feeble stream of water which alternated in temperature between scalding hot & freezing cold before eventually settling on lukewarm when turned up to maximum. The view from the window was the back of the hotel, which was very disappointing given that it's next to the harbour.

If the hotel element was brought up to the same standard as the bar & restaurant this would be really good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Will start with the only positives, comfy bed , friendly bar staff and the location. Booked this Hotel for NYE, expecting to enjoy a meal and drink during the evening. On arrival was shocked at how grubby the whole interior was,uninviting with filthy carpets, sticky tables and glasses. The room had no sea view as was promised, was small, dark with stained carpet. The shower was a shower in name only, with a trickle of intermittent hot/ cold water.
Unfortunately as it was NYE we were unable to get a table to eat anywhere else at short notice, so arrived at 8pm to eat in the restaurant . We were the only people there!! The food was dreadful, as was the breakfast, which was swimming in oil and in edible . All in all a miserable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helengol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
64 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachty

Property: Monachty
Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachty 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachty Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing