We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will most definitely be booking again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Gwyn Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Gwyn Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will most definitely be booking again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

A beautiful location and a very clean room, a lovely view of the Sea, an amazing heated outdoor water pool/jacuzzi of which we thoroughly enjoyed and the most amazingly helpful staff.

Me and my Fiancé where pleasantly surprised by this hidden Gem. We are looking forward to booking our next trip back

Thanks Mark for your excellent customer service

Anthony

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit,and the hottub..It is a great place to chill and enjoy the seaview.. Catch you again then,regards Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
53
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Mark is a great host nothing is too much trouble!!!!!
The room was lovely with a great sea view and a really comfy bed.
Great location not far from Newquay and Aberystwyth.
Will definitely be staying again.
John and Lindsey

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseylou67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thanks for your comments, it is as always great to hear you had a good visit....Regards Mark..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth-UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay and wanted to let people know straight away what a thoroughly enjoyable weekend we had thanks to the warm welcome extended to us by Mark @ the Ty Gwyn. We were visiting Aberaeron for the first time for my son's wedding so it was a really important weekend for us. From the minute we arrived Mark went out of his way to make us feel welcome and this continued to be the case throughout the whole weekend. Our room was spotlessly clean, it was front facing with a superb view of the sea, had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in on my travels and the breakfast was excellent. Over and above that, however, it was all the added touches which Mark included which made it such a pleasant stay. A welcoming cup of tea and a chat; advice on local restaurants and local sites to visit, a lift into the town on our first night to save us having to book a taxi and he even introduced us to his family who were visiting all of which made us feel so at home and welcome. All in all a great stay and one place we'll certainly be booking into on our next visit to this lovely part of West Wales. Diolch yn fawr Mark.....

Room Tip: Front facing room was great with sea views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
It was a pleasure to have met you both and I am pleased the special weekend went so well for you...Having the great weather helped too..!!!..See you again,regards Mark..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a great time at Ty Gwyn.
Mark is an outstanding host, extremely helpful and was keen to make sure we had a good time.
I can understand all the reviews on the welsh breakfast but don't let the scrambled eggs pass you buy. Without any doubt the best I've ever tasted.
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thanks Kevin, I think Jamie oliver should get the praise, I use his recipe..And fresh local farm eggs..I am glad you enjoyed.....It is always a pleasure to serve up good food that is appreciated,regards, Mark..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We had a lovely time at Ty Gwyn. We came as a family unit with myself and my wife staying in Ty Gwyn and my brother and disabled father staying in the annexe. The room we had was spacious and very well presented, and the breakfasts were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the host Mark.Can certainly highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi Chris, thanks for your comments..I am pleased the facilities work for your Dad so well, it was good to have him back..Good too that we now have nursing help to hand..All the best, Matk..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Had a 3 night stay at a really good rate. The rooms were excellent, beds really comfortable and breakfast delicious. Mark was an excellent host, thoughtful, helpful and made good suggestions of places to visit. Such a positive experience I can't recommend it too highly- wish we could have stayed longer! There is also a disabled friendly self- contained unit- every one catered for and cared for. Nice outside seating area and hot tub- sadly it wasn't warm enough to try it this time. If you enjoy wildlife it's a great place too- lots of bird life including awesome red kites on the wing.

Room Tip: Room 2 has marvellous sea views from both windows and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thanks for your comments....I am pleased you enjoyed all the local places of interest too, see you again, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during our week long touring holiday and I would have happily stayed all week. Our room was very comfortable, beautifully presented and bonus of a beautiful sea view. As has been much commented on Mark is a great host and made us very welcome, interested in what we had done and keen to recommend places to make the most of our stay. The breakfasts from locally sourced food were amazing and it was great to hear happy whistling coming from the kitchen as it was freshly prepared. The setting is wonderfully peaceful and although Mark offered us a lift into town we were happy to enjoy the short walk along the beach path to the harbour. A great deal of attention is given to make sure that the stay is a comfortable and happy one. I very much hope to return. Thank you.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cathb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKTYGWYN, Owner at Ty Gwyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Hi Cath, whistling eh.! Lucky for you I sing sometimes.......I hope the trip to North Wales went well too...Regards Mark..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberaeron hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hazeldene B&B
Hazeldene B&B
#9 of 12 in Aberaeron
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Guesthouse

Property: Ty Gwyn Guesthouse
Address: Ty Gwyn Drefach, Aberaeron SA46 0JR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 bedroomed b&b of 4 star grading....Also has a 1 bed disabled adapted and dog friendly self catering annex..All just 300 metres from the sea....Modern clean home with wonderful sea views...Great food served and friendly staff.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Ty Gwyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Guesthouse Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing