We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at friendly Gwennaul”

Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I can't really add a lot to the reviews already posted except to say that we too had the pleasure of staying at Gwennaul recently and enjoyed the excellent hospitality of Dave and Kerry - two of the nicest, kindest, warmest and friendliest people you could ever meet. It's absolutely true that nothing is too much trouble for them, for us this meant drying our wet gear, offering and giving lifts to town etc, recommending places to eat and making bookings - I could go on.

Aberaeron is very near - a short walk into the town which offers many b&b's etc but for us this was the ideal place to stay as it was just so quiet and peaceful down a little private lane. I think that our room was the slightly smaller of the two but this does not make any difference to the quality of the accommodation - everything was very clean and comfortable and the ensuite was a perfect size with an excellent shower. The breakfast is superb, an excellent choice of all you could want, a superbly cooked full English which sets you up for the day - we had no real need for lunch - and then to cap all that, the minute you get back you are offered tea and cake, cream teas etc in the conservatory, overlooking the pretty garden, which is just the loveliest way to finish off your day.

As I said, all the reviews here sum the place up perfectly but I just feel that the efforts of Dave and Kerry deserve all the praise one can give. We will definitely return one day to walk more of the coast path in beautiful Ceredigion.

Room Tip: One room is slightly bigger with view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spud O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here after dropping our son off at uni in Aberystwyth.
What a find, the owners Dave and Kerry are two of the nicest people you could come across, nothings too much trouble, Dave offered to take us to New Quay to save us catching the local bus, we walked the coastal path from New Quay back to Aberaeron, the scenery is stunning.
Kerry is a superb cook, when we arrived we had a lovely cream tea and the breakfasts are lovely, from fresh strawberries and pineapple, croissants, variety of cereals and yogurts then on to the full english breakfast which was very nicely cooked.
Bedroom and bathroom lovely and clean and very spacious.
Thankyou

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 884carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here while visiting Aberaeron for a wedding at the feathers. Very friendly owners and extremely helpful. Within easy walking distance to Aberaeron only a short walk back. Lovely breakfast in the conservatory. Would happily stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here with my parents to celebrate my Dad's very special birthday. We were greeted after a journey of nearly 4 hours with a very welcome cup of tea and home made cake. The room was spotlessly clean, with an equally spotless ensuite, and very nice power shower. They had provided tea and coffee making facilities in the room, with biscuits replenished daily. The towels were changed daily too. Both Kerry and Dave made us feel very welcome, and even decorated the breakfast conservatory with balloons and streamers for Dad's birthday breakfast, which was a lovely gesture.
The 'Full English' breakfast is fantastic, especially those with a big appetite. I had to admit defeat and just have scrambled egg on toast the second morning, which is made with local free range eggs, delicious. The B&B is not far from the main town, and is a great base for exploring the Welsh coast, we were even lucky enough to pop down to New Quay and saw the dolphins just off the harbour. We had a fantastic weekend, and would certainly like to return at some point. Thanks. x

Room Tip: Two rooms both with ensuite - equally good but one is slightly bigger with a bath in the ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just spent five wonderful nights at Gwennaul. Kerry and Dave are the most attentive and caring hosts we have ever come across. Nothing is too much trouble for them in making the holiday enjoyable. The food is superb and beautifully cooked and served in the sunny conservatory. The rooms are spotless, with comfortable beds and all the usual tea and coffee making facilities (even fresh milk is provided). Kerry's welcome includes delicious home-made cake. Our room overlooked a delightful flower bed full of dahlias and other flowers with many birds using the bird boxes available. Since our first visit in 2007 we are delighted to see that Kerry and Dave's high standards are still maintained. We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Dave and Kerry made our short break just perfect.as we arrived late in the afternoon and tried to find accommodation last minute and were amazed at the standard here x kerry booked table at a Resturant i had seen earlier in the day but to our surprise dave offered us a lift into town ( which is only 5 min walk ) how thoughtful x this is not to mention fab breakfast x will be back thanks x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clouds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just spent two nights at Gwennaul, and cannot give too much praise to the owners, Dave and Kerry. We arrived slightly earlier than anticipated, but still received a very warm welcome.
Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with some nice individual touches. The breakfast was first-class, with a good selection of choices.
The location was ideal - a short walk into Aberaeron, either along the beach or down the road - and tucked away down a little lane, meaning it was very peaceful.
Must just mention the excellent cake!
This was our first trip to central Wales for many years, but we hope to return and Gwennaul would most definitely be our favoured location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnchapeltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberaeron hotels
0.4 mi away
Hazeldene B&B
Hazeldene B&B
#8 of 12 in Aberaeron
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast

Address: Drefach, Aberaeron SA46 0JR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing