We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These folks are great!”
Review of Carno House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carno House
Ranked #2 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“These folks are great!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Had an opportunity to return to Wales for a second time. Without hesitation, we immediately made reservations to stay a second time at Carno House. Upon our arrival, it felt as though we were visiting old friends. Linda and Gary are great hosts and just fabulous folks!

Carno House is spotless and tastefully decorated (love the new colors!). The rooms are quiet and very comfortable and the tea tray always appreciated!

Breakfast is delicious and plentiful, every detail has been thought of!

Carno House is well situated in Aberearon, close to the village shops, the waterfront and bus stops. Linda and Gary are well informed about the area and do not hesitate to help with whatever you might need.

I can't say enough about my great experiences with Carno House. I would, without any hesitation, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was good to see you again and to meet your mum too.

We are please you enjoyed your stay at Carno House and your time at Aberaeron.

Be sure to come back for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
83
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This is the second time for us to stay and we are already planning our third! Rooms are beautifully decorated and are very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the next few hours to explore the Cardigan Bay coast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gweni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We are pleased you have enjoyed both of your stays and good to hear you will be coming back too. Carno House is positioned well within Aberaeron giving easy access to the coastal path and surrounding areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at Carno House for a friends wedding (May 2013). Having travelled from County Durham with our one year old - a trip that should have taken 5 hours - and ended up taking 9.5, we were made very welcome by Linda with a lovely cup of tea. Even though they were not expecting our little boy (we hadn't booked the hotel) he was made very welcome. The hotel was immaculate and our room (Aaron View) was perfect for us with a lovely sea view. Breakfast was delicious and catered for all of us. Linda even got up with us and made us a cuppa to set us on our way home at 5am on the Sunday morning as we had to be back to Durham for another wedding. We would definitely stay again only next time for a little longer.

Room Tip: Aaron View has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, it is very much appreciated. At Carno House, we endeavour to provide our guests with a high level of service. Carno House do cater for children of all ages and it was our pleasure to meet your needs. Aeron View does have a lovely outlook and with a clear view of Cardigan Bay too. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you all again, this time for a longer period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Carno House is located at the north end of Aberaeron, just off the main road and a 5-minute walk to the town centre. It has parking for 2 cars. We stayed Friday/Saturday night with my parents. We stayed in Aeron View (room 3 - a double) and my parents in Town View (room 1 - two singles).

Our room was functional rather than luxurious, but it had everything you would expect in terms of facilities and it was warm, well-maintained and spotlessly clean. It had en-suite shower & toilet. There was also a small single bed and a small single chair. The room had a distant 'sea-view'. I found the bed a little hard for my tastes and the pillows a little flat. My wife had no such problems and could have slept jn until the cows came home.

Breakfasts were excellent, with cereals and juices as well as a good selection of Full English ingredients all beautifully cooked. Coffee (filter) was also of decent quality.

Linda and Gary were excellent proprietors; friendly and amenable. Each had an excellent local knowledge and were able to provide good suggestions of places to visit.

Aberaeron itself is a lovely picturesque town between Aberystwyth and Newquay. The sea-front is stony and uninviting, but it has a lovely marina. The whole place looks very well cared for. There are some good eating options (see reviews).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Both of us would like to thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Aeron View is a delightful room which does have a great outlook to the sea, a very short distance away. The quality of our beds is high, with the room you refer to having a Sealy mattress and feather pillows. However, we appreciate that everyone has different needs and we do try our upmost to find a happy medium, which sounds as though it suited your wife and we assume, your parents.

Thank you for taking your time to place comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed here in September 2012. I was down from Newcastle for my Niece and Nephew's wedding renewal and wanted somewhere near the venue and couldn't have been closer.

This B&B is first class for everything, from the very warm welcome from Linda, the cleanliness of my room, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, and the wonderful breakfast the following morning.

I would highly recommend this B&B to one and all.

Thanks again Linda for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
'Best B&B by far' is very pleasing to read as the heading of a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the amenities were to a 'first class' standard for you.

We hope you'll visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Carno House and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of the owners. Everything was spotless and the bedroom was beautifully furnished with little added extras that are always appreciated.
The breakfasts were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed staying there. We would recommend it to everyone. Thank you Linda ( and hubby!).

Room Tip: We had the Garden View room at the back which was lovely and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCotswoldDavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us here at Carno House B&B. We strive to provide each and every guest with a pleasant and welcoming stay. Cleanliness is something we are particularly keen to maintain at the highest standards. We are a small family B&B and all services are delivered and provided inhouse, ensuring we have totally control over quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Linda made us feel so much at home. Carno house is so clean and comfortable, with good food
And a lovley host in Linda.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vernon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Aww, thank you so much for your review, we do appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
62 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carno House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carno House

Property: Carno House
Address: North Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0JP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carno House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Carno House Bed and Breakfast. This friendly B&B offers you relaxing furnishings and comfort at an affordable price. All within a friendly atmosphere and with accommodation to suit singles, couples and family requirements. Ideally situated close to the centre of the Georgian harbour town of Aberaeron in the beautiful county of Ceredigion, Mid-Wales. You are well placed to explore the delights of this part of Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carno House Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing