We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent throughout.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent throughout.”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Had a one night stay recently with a late availability, absolutely fabulous location, first class hotel, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri5tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    112
    35
    27
    4
See reviews for
68
387
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our two night stay in Aberaeron needed to be special because it’s where I proposed to my fiancé. We both couldn’t have been happier with the quality of the hotel, the food and the friendly and professional service. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The food was top class and extremely good value for money considering the quality and quantity. The staff were helpful when arranging the stay and wonderful during. If you know the setting, this needs no review, a beautiful town on Britain’s most beautiful coastline. We have already told friends to stay there and would most definitely suggest a stay at the Harbourmaster to anyone. We fully intend on renting the cottage in the future for a family holiday, we cannot wait! Thanks to all the staff and we look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We had one facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamandJosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Chester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Had long looked forward to visiting the Harbourmaster which we did to mark a special birthday. Our room was spacious, attractive and comfortable with a compelling harbour view. Would certainly return. It was a mid-week visit and hotel and restaurant very busy, I imagine it would be more so at weekends. However staff were attentive and helpful and we enjoyed the Welsh flavour throughout. Only comment is that two restaurant meals were spoiled by large groups of noisy young people, one a hen party, who behaved as though they were in a downtown bar and spoiled the atmosphere. Several others asked to be moved. Maybe accepting these large groups who are out for a good time should be reconsidered.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgathaCrabthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Spent a few days in May at this fantastic Hotel. Excellent position. Great walking area. We had two single rooms and although small they were beautifully kitted out. We chose to eat in the bar - a bit noisy on the Saturday night but terrific fun. Wonderful food served by excellent staff. I couldn't fault this hotel. Brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soovixoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We couldn`t fault the room, everything we could possibly need, loved all the Welsh products. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant in the evening. The breakfast was wonderful too -try the porridge - out of this world! The choices were amazing, I defy anyone to leave hungry.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at The Harbourmaster to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and have been left feeling a bit disappointed after doing a great deal of research (and saving!!!)
The town of Aberaeron is absolutely beautiful and would urge you to visit, but think carefully about where to stay and why.
The Harbourmaster is presented really well and in lovely taste, reflecting the area in its interior design and great use of beautiful Welsh textiles.
Our room looked beautiful and had a bonus of a decked balcony with seating just right for watching the sunset, however just right for watching something a lot less attractive....to be continued.
We were very happy with our choice until Dinner. The bar area was extremely busy, there was nowhere to have a pre dinner drink and look at a menu once we had actually got someones attention if we could look at a menu! We had to ask how we got to the restaurant! However, once there the food and service was very good.
This was certainly not the case on Saturday night, the bar was even more busy, we tried to ask re our table etc but were treated in a very off-handed manner and pointed to a table, service was very slow and with little 'pazazz' ( I am sure you know what I mean).
The food was good but not great and the menu exactly the same as the previous night. My Husband asked if he could have the fish from the 'bar' menu but was told it was from a different kitchen and this wasn't possible!!!
Meanwhile the bar area was really rowdy we decided to take our drinks up to our room and take advantage of the balcony and have our Anniversary toast.
Our view of the sea was rudely interrupted by 'lads' relieving' themselves in front of us at the back of the Hotel!!
This behaviour around what is marketed as an 'upmarket' establishment shouldn't be tolerated, but perhaps the money paid for endless drink outweighs the importance of guests? I did bring this to the attention of one of the Staff , we did not receive any comment until check out when my Husband brought it up again.
The other really disappointment was the quality of the bed, it was very hard, and felt of fairly mediocre quality (we had stayed in a little place earlier not expensive or with as much kudos, the bed was fabulous brilliant quality and obviously chosen with guests comfort in mind)
I am sorry to be negative about a Hotel that has had great accolades but I feel that we are all working hard and money is hard earned, those that we give it to must acknowledge this by treating us fairly .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bats7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We booked a table in the Restaurant and looked forward to sampling the food having read some of the reviews for the Harbour Master.
Our first compaint is having to battle our way through the very busy bar area to access the the Restaurant. The service was very good initially, it deteriorated after our main course. We waited 40 minutes for our dirty plates to be removed and waited over 30 minutes for the Dessert to arrive. Our Starters, Crab Spring Rolls were very good, our main course was reasonable but vastly overpriced for what it was and the accompanying vegetables were an odd combination. The Desserts , one in particular were strange. The Cheeseboard arrived with a good selection of cheeses accompanied by a fruit Muffin and honey? The Lemon Tart with Raspberry Sorbet and fresh raspberries looked good and tasted OK. The Strawberry Pavlova however left a lot to be desired, the meringue was a miniature mountain and just as hard topped with one scoop of yellow ice cream flanked by ONE strawberry eitherside, the TWO strawberries I might add had been marinated apparently in liqueur but resembled the look and constituancy of mush. Our complaints were accepted sympathetically and would be mentioned at their weekly meeting?
Our final complaint, the toilets are on the far side of the busy bar area, quite a walk from the restaurant and difficult for anyone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hwh1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
803 reviews
14.1 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
322 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing