We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful food, wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We return to the Harbourmaster time and time again, and are never disappointed. The rooms are fantastic, matched by the food (restaurant and bar are both very good). The staff work really hard to make every stay special - they are welcoming, friendly and professional. We love Aberaeron, and the Harbourmaster is our "go to" place!

Room Tip: Don't worry about choosing a room in the new Warehouse - the soundproofing is excellent. All ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF23-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, exceptional staff, fab local food... all in all a great gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: John and Henry room was stunning with a beautiful deck with sea view and amazing roll top bath..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byrd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here last week for two nights, the hotel was full so we were offered a room in their cottage next door but one. The cottage, like the hotel, is directly onto the harbour.
The cottage was brilliant, Kingsize bedroom with ensuite bathroom, full use of well fitted kitchen/diner and a gorgeous lounge. The cottage has another Kingsize room and a small single but we had it all to ourselves for the total stay.
We ate in the hotel bar the first evening but as a vegetarian, I found the menu a little small with only two choices...had mint & pea risotto which was fine but I am not really a risotto lover soooo...breakfast was fine, eggs,toms, mushrooms & lava bread which we hadn't tried before but was fine. Think maybe some veggie sausage may have been a nice extra as the meat breakfast was, as usual, much better! However, overall it was a lovely buffet breakfast before the cooked part, with loads of choice...and we were offered extra toast and coffee without hesitation.
The only complaint we had was the bed...it was huge and spotless (as was all of the cottage) but it was too firm...a little give in the mattress would have been good. Would re visit and recommend. It is pricey but worth the extra.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto harbour which is a little noisy at times but the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife had seen this hotel on a "visit Wales" advert. We arrived on Sunday and we weren't dissapointed. Food and drinks in the bar and then because the weather was so great we took our drinks out to the "harbour" wal were we sat and drank and watched the world go by.
The room in which we were staying was the "John and Henry" - one word "fab" big open deck to relax on and all the comforts of home. The big free standing roll top bath was immense.
Dinner reservations in the rest were at 8 so we got changed and made our way downstairs.
We had great food from the menu which is 3 courses for £30 plus supplements for different things. All in all we had a really pleasant stay and would highly reccommend this to anyone.

"we will be back"

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sky_traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The only dissapointment was that we just stayed for 1 night.we needed a chill out night and thats what we got.The staff were great ,so helpfull and friendly we were instantly made to feel welcome.our room was perfect, modern, spacious and clean,The bathroom was to die for.It had one of the deepest baths we have seen.The shower was equally as grand.We had our own balcony which had a lovely view of cardigan bay.We had dinner in the resturant ,it was one of the best meals we have ever had.Delicious.We will go back and stay longer next time.What a special place and so lucky to have experienced it.

Room Tip: we stayed in The john and henry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hailey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just stayed for the second time at the Harbourmaster. A faultless performance yet again.
Fanatastic location, fantastic bedroom (as I was upgraded on arrival), fantastic views.
The staff are so welcoming and professional. The bar is a delight with a great atmosphere. I have yet to eat dinner in the restaurant as the food in the Bar is first rate. Breakfast was very good with great choice.
I have stayed twice now when on business in Ceredigion and have yet to find fault, I keep promiising to take my wife as it would make a great romantic venue.
Cannot wait until my next stay.

Room Tip: The singles are on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnybegoodWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I'd wanted to stay at the Harbourmaster for a while, and my partner booked it as a birthday surprise. It was fantastic!
We stayed in Madona, the attic suite on the third floor at it was gorgeous, with views across the harbour from one window and out to see from the other. The bathroom was huge with a freestanding bath and double shower, and the bed was huge and so comfortable. We met up with friends in the bar before dinner and I loved the relaxed atmosphere. Our dinner was faultless as was the service. I can honestly not find one thing that I was dissatisfied with and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mumblesalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
174 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: £65 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing