We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Service with style and smiles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourmaster Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service with style and smiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

We have just returned from two great days at the Harbourmaster and would endorse everything that has been said by previous reviewers, adding our praise for the service we received from the owners and, in particular, the young and enthusiastic staff. The new extension has added ultra-chic, stylish and spacious extra rooms, and taken away the need for the less mobile to climb the narrow, winding stairs! The extension has also given the restaurant more space and iintroduced a sorely-needed, good-sized reception area and bar, selling excellent beers, wines and an imaginative selection of bar snacks. We liked it so much that we have already booked the same room for the same time next year!

  • Liked — Room and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Newportboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    101
    32
    27
    3
See reviews for
60
351
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

This hotel hits that perfect combination of stylish yet welcoming, visually arresting but homely, chic but extremely friendly. We were made to feel at home from the moment we walked in. Great short break in a lovely spot, good food, very nice bar. Good last minute deals on hotel website.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2007

Spent two nights at the Harbour Master on business and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The hotel is beautifully situated, overlooking the sea on the one side and the pretty town of Aberaeron on the other.

I stayed in the cottage, two doors down from the hotel itself. My room was furnished to a high standard, with king size bed, flat screen TV, CD player and complimentary Tŷ Nant mineral water.

The bathroom was huge, with an enormous bath, bathrobes and Molton Brown toiletries. Oddly, there was handwash, but no soap.

The restaurant was very good, mostly fresh, locally-sourced fish and excellent Welsh Black beef. The menu wasn't varied much, however, so it could become a bit samey over a longer stay.

This is an excellent small hotel, which is presently undergoing alterations that will make it even better. I recommend it highly and will be returning soon.

  • Liked — High standard of accommodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prospero1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

The setting for this small hotel is absolutely magnificent; uninterrupted views over the sea wall far out to sea, and having booked the suite (room 7, Madona), we had the very best views of all with double aspect looking out to sea and also over the harbour itself. Check-in was a little haphazard – the young chap who was at the bar didn't really seem to know what he was supposed to do, and kept asking us what time we wanted to have dinner, despite us only having booked B&B.

The suite was spacious if a little strangely laid out. The bathroom had a separate rolltop bath and large shower cubicle and a generous amount of space. The "sitting area" was a sofa crammed into a sort of corridor with a TV on a chest. The bedroom was very large, but because of the sloping roof and arrangement of doors and windows, meant that the superking sized bed was virtually jammed against one wall. On the plus side, the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the bedlinen was crisp and fresh. Because of the lack of wall space, there was no wardrobe, just a hanging rail in the corner. Standard of decoration was verging on the shabby, with many chips and scuffs to the paintwork. Room maintenance was also an issue since 3 out of 4 lightbulbs failed to work. Unfortunately, as the suite is located at the very top of the building, we were subjected to all the elements throughout the night as the wind howled through the roof tiles and banged the windows. There were also no nice little touches; UHT milk portions with no sign of fresh, and only one bottle of water permitted for the duration of your stay (you can have more, but you're charged for it!).

As mentioned before, the bathroom was generously proportioned, and the shower provided plenty of powerful hot water. I nearly lost myself in the bath (and I'm definitely not a small person). The toiletries were gorgeous (Molton Brown), but as these were for use only during your stay (large dispensers attached to the walls etc) don't expect to take any home with you.

Breakfast was tasty, but not enormous. The toast was on the interesting side of chewy; a couple of heavy ecologically sound types of loaves had been hacked about in a random way and shoved into a toaster.

Aberaeron itself is quaint, and seemed lively without being too touristy. Having said that we visited in late September on a cold blustery weekday; mid summer may well be a different story.

Parking wasn't really a problem; we parked along the harbour wall and on closer inspection could've found some more parking around the back of the hotel, although this wasn't signposted as such. There is a separate guest entrance around the side, but as this leads you past the toilets for the bar/restaurant, perhaps not quite as lovely as it might be. There is some building work going on, which will increase the number of rooms by 4, and should give more space downstairs – for new toilets perhaps?

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Strange room layout
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Car01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

We stayed here for my birthday in January. I was keen to be near the sea and this place fitted the bill perfectly.

We stayed in the cottage, just down from the hotel, on a B&B basis which was great because we could use the lounge and kitchen.

The bed was extremely comfortable and it had a great bathoom.
The furnishings are quite minimal which I liked. If you're into heavy curtains and swags this is not the place for you!

The food in the evening was out of this world. I had mussels followed by sea bream. And there was a good wine list.

I was a little disappointed with breakfast - but then again I run a B&B so I'm a very hard to please cooked breakfast expert! It was a good breakfast - not a very good breakfast. The porridge was good but the orange juice wasn't freshly squeezed

The staff were very friendly and adjusted between the welsh and english speakers in the restaurant well.

We were very lucky with the weather and had a glorious days walking on some nearby beaches. There isn't a great deal to do in this part of Wales if you're not into the great outdoors. It is stunning scenery however and you may spot a dolphin.

The advantage of staying in the cottage rather than the main hotel is that you can chill out in the lounge in front of the log fire and read ( or watch TV or DVD - the hotel has a selection you can borrow ) if the weather turns inclement.

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — orange juice!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BramblingTweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed in the little cottage next door but one that belongs to the hotel - only us there so we had the whole place to ourselves. The weather was fierce but we had a fantastic time, we were made to feel very welcome and not fussed over. Bedroom was very comfortable and loved the bathroom which was huge and all immaculate. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner, great wine list. Stayed one night at Bodysgallen on the way home which almost cost us more than three nights at the Harbourmaster and was very disappointing. Harbourmaster much better value for money. Aberaeron is a really pretty town too. It was perfect and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

We stayed at the hotel for one night and ate there too.

The room we had was really lovely. Nicely laid out with a seperate seating area with amazing views over the marina. All the furnishings were comfy, new and modern.

I was disappointed with the food though. I had fishcakes as a starter and they were OK if fairly tasteless and dry, and had crab risotto to follow. The presentation of the risotto wasn't great as it was served on its own in a bowl with no garnish and so looked rather like an unappetising bowl of school gruel. In addition, the dish contained raw onion. It hadn't been cooked at all and so was very strong in flavour as well as giving the risotto an odd, crunchy consistency. Teamed with the chopped hot chilli pepper, I couldn't taste any crab at all.

I did receive an apology and the offer of another meal, as well as the cost of the risotto being deducted from the bill, so hats off to the staff for that.

I would go back and give the restaurant another chance as my companions said their food was fine and I haven't seen any other poor food reviews so wonder if this was a one off.

Lovely place overall and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Breathtaking harbour views
  • Disliked — Poor food
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing