We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Really lovely hotel in a great location. Plenty of enjoyable walks around the harbour and the village. Room looked out over the harbour. Food good but arrived late so limited seafood available on the night, cosy bar and good bar food. Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenDen1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the Albion room within the nice, pink cottage 2 doors away from the hotel. Location is beautiful on the edge of Aberaeron's small harbour and a short walk from the seafront and similarly to the Town Centre. Room was quite plain and basic but nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom was very large and included a very comfy bath and an excellent seperate shower. An excellent fully fitted kitchen and dining area plus a nice lounge were provided downstairs in the cottage, which would make it ideal for a family or group of friends to stay in.
We had one meal in the hotel restaurant and one in the hotel bar, both were delicious and served by very competent and extremely friendly staff. Breakfast was served in the dining room and included a good choice of options. Unfortunately, the Welsh weather was at its' worst during our stay and this prevented us from seeing the locality at its' best. We will have to return again in the sunshine!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel we found via the Alex Politzzis Little Black Book of Hotels. The second one we have stayed in from this book and so worth it!!!
The position was second to none, we had the Madona room which was dual aspect one window over the harbour the other over the sea!
The staff were very friendly and chatty and made you feel very welcome. The food was lovely and we were so lucky with the weather. :-)
There are some lovely walks from the hotel, we managed to do both circular walks of 4 miles, which were very pleasant indeed.
Would definately recommend this and stay again!

Room Tip: Madona room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Visited after recommendation from a friend. Booked Martha Jane which is a lovely room with sitting area, private terrace and massive luxury bathroom. Only minor negative was lighting poor for makeup. Need an illuminated mirror in the bathroom.Very attentive service. Breakfast was fresh and plenty of it if you wanted. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nene4dis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having to been to the Harbourmaster for a few years I was surprised to see the revamped bar area and gastro pub feel of the eating area rather than a separate bar and restaurant. It's good for Aberaeron to have such a lively, well located place to eat, drink and stay.

Room Tip: They have an annexe which has a honeymoon suite overlooking the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Normally would give The Harbourmaster a 5 star rating however for the first time ever we noticed a few things have slipped on our recent stay. Certain staff demonstrated a negative attitude especially one guy who worked in the bar and restaurant. This is not normal at Harbourmaster. There were mistakes and errors at dinner and we noticed two other couples either side of us complaining about the night before. There was a lack of management and direction.The room was not tidied in the way we are used to. Our gowns were not hung back up, cushions not rearranged, basically a lack of attention to detail. The food was still good. On the final day it was clear when Dai, one of the managers arrived the whole thing seemed more pulled together and there was a visible difference in the staff and standards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

If you enjoy fresh seafood, the Harbourmaster is a treasure. There is always a good choice of fresh locally caught fish on the boards as well as an extensive menu of local produce. The food, whether you eat in the bar or the restaurant, is beautifully presented. Not to be missed

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
173 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: £65 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing