We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful veggie food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dreadful veggie food.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We ate in the bar in the evening and the veggie "options" were dreadful. There weren't any mains so we had to opt for one of the two starters / light bites (Welsh Rarebit) which wasn't great.

Looking at the menu from the main restaurant, there was one "veggie" option - but it contained Parmesan, which is made from animal rennet.

For breakfast we ordered the veggie breakfasts which tasted really strongly of bacon fat.

All a bit of a shame really - just a bit of creativity and awareness and they could have some stunning veggie stuff on the menu like Llys Meddyg in Newport Pembs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drillbit289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    109
    35
    27
    4
See reviews for
65
382
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This place describes itself as cool, classy and contemporary. The design of the rooms might be cool but this place is neither classy nor contemporary. It has rooms with a great view above an ordinary pub with people shouting "f###" on auto-repeat until 11pm when the place finally gets quite.It definitely takes much more to make a great place than to give your rooms a design make-over. Nothing against pub accommodation, I love it! But not at this price and in this disguise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheftrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My partner and I decided to do a tour of wales, and after having difficulty finding places to stay I came across the Harbourmaster. I was blown away. Each room is decorated differently and I felt as if I was in a hotel from somewhere abroad.

Our room had a sofa, large telly, the bath room was nearly the same size as the bedroom and had a old fashion bath tub, a waterfall walking shower. We also had a meal in the hotels restaurant and I could not fault it. The whole service from welcome to depart was fantastic. I will keep the memories of this place forever and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for one night in late May, and were charmed by both Aberaeron and the Harbourmaster from the moment we arrived. The staff were friendly and attentive, the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the food was excellent. The location is great - right next to the seafront and overlooking the harbour (obviously). While the weather wasn't great, and our room didn't have views over the Harbour (the hotel seems to get booked up quickly), we'd definitely return to this charming little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonOliverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brdigewater
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very nice rooms, stayed for just one night. Weather was poor, so did not venture out to far.

Spacious restaurant with plenty of choice and fizz by the glass.

Food was ok and reasonably priced.

Breakfast was very scrummy.

Aberaeron itself is very cute with nice stores and not overcrowded.

We plan to return next year and will happily visit the Harbourmaster again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHarris2098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights (May 10th to 13th) and although the weather was not kind the hotel and Aberaeron more than made up for that. We were greeted like old friends(thanks Dai), the room was great with fantastic views from the bathroom and the bedroom (Cadwgan). We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights and the service & food were first class on both occasions, reasonably priced wine as well! The bar was well used by locals & guests with local beer and well priced wines available. The town itself is really pretty with lots of choices for eating & drinking and everyone we met during our stay was so friendly & welcoming, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in, Cadwgan, has great views but from what we saw all of the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This part of Wales is not my favourite destination but had to go on business so finding this hotel made the trip bearable.
Really lovely hotel, room was clean, spacious, well decorated, with great views over the harbour. Bed was good and bathroom huge, the attention to detail was excellent, absolutely everything was thought of and provided.
The bar is great and the restaurant was extremely good, breakfast great too, in fact it was all completely perfect and I would return .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTMLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
318 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
472 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing