We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourmaster Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a shame! The service was to say the least bad...order forgotten, pepper asked for forgotten, cutlery taken away before main served, more waiting .....could understand waiting if full but wasn't...no apology and seemed to me that the staff who were all pretty young could do with going on a hospitality course!!!!!!!.real shame as although food overpriced, but guess paying for location,it was reasonable...wnot be returning in a hurry

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mediclotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    102
    33
    27
    3
See reviews for
61
357
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

It is not cheap but you do not come away feeling it was expensive due to the standard that the Harbourmaster attains. That includes the accomadation, food and the personal service that all the staff provide. This is our third visit to this gem of a location and will not be our last. Long may the Harbourmaster continue!!

Room Tip: They are all different and all good. We have stayed in three types this latest one being the Madona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. John and Henry suite was excellent, loved the fridge with reasonably priced drinks and fresh milk for our tea. Im being a bit picky here as the weather was hot we left the terrace doors open and I could hear the kitchen fans going from 4am and there was a slight odour of breakfast cooking - If we had wanted too we could have shut the doors and put the air con in the room, so i cant really complain
We booked for 2 nights Dinner Bed and Breakfast, and was disappointed that the menu was the same both nights... The first night, our waiter, although pleasant did not put enough ice in the wine cooler so our wine was not chilled, he forgot our water and another waitress brought us water without ice... Food was good, especially the lobster and also the peach soup. Breakfast was nice, could have done with more laverbread, and not having to cook toast ourselves !
It was a good break, and with a couple of tweaks especially with staff training issues it would be excellent !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmarWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Excellent hotel, Madona suite was fantastic, absolutely loved it. The food in the restaurant was of the highest quailty in terms of taste and presentation. A massive plus for me that evero ne spoke Welsh

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This place has a lovely feel about it. We visited for food and drinks on a Sunday recently and enjoyed the busy atmosphere created by tourists and locals eating and drinking. People take srinks and sit on the harbour walls outside. It has a lovely community feel.

The style and decor is very nice, very much in keeping with the harbour but contempory and stylish.

We arrived at 2ish with a plan to have our main meal. As you walk in there is a desk area (reception on the left) which is confusing as you are not sure if you need to wait for a table or if there is table service. The guy behind the desk did not look up at us so we found a table and sat down. Again, it was a bit weird as there were no menus etc but people we eating all around us. Anyway, the desk is just a bit misleading, its the desk for the hotel side of things and nothing to do with the bar (i think) and it is a seat yourself / order at the bar situation - which is fine.

However, we were disapointed as the menu available was limited (sunday) and when we asked if that was all that was available we were told yes - so we decide to leave. No-one tried to talk to us the whole time.

We ended up going back in 10 mins later to ask again if there were options for dinner later that night (we were desperate for some seafood and there were oysters on the menu). It turns out there was a different bar menu and a resturant menu availabe from 6.30pm - we just didnt ask the right questions :-/

We ended up staying for a light lunch, then coming back for dinner. We enjoyed oysters (twice), antipasti sharing platter, skinny fries, lobster, crab fritters, chocolate fondant and lots of good wine! Everything was good. Oysters and lobster were great.

We would return. Other than the lack of attentive service when we first went in the service was great too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBurtonandJBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castletown
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast. We had stayed several times before and in the same room, Madona, which is on the top floor. No one took our bags up, no one even offered. The room is gorgeous with amazing rooms, but because of the weather large amounts of people gather outside to drink, making it quite noisy until late at night. That coupled with early risers having loud conversations at 7 in the morning, did not make for an entirely restful stay.

Despite the hotel knowing that it was our wedding anniversary, nothing special was done for us. In fact the night of our anniversary our table was not ready on time. We were politely offered a drink at the bar, we assumed that this was free because of the inconvenience, but no. We were asked what room to charge it to! Disappointing!

Food good, but it was better last time. If you are staying more than one night then you have the same menu.

The overall experience was more to do with the location and beautiful views rather than the service and the food. And for a hefty bill of £600 for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast, I wanted a more special experience, but I think that was too much for them. Having been here several times, I'm not sure I'll go back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarajeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just returned from two nights at the Harbourmaster, our first visit to Aberaeron. Straight away we fell in love with the picturesque town and we were very impressed with the welcome, service and general atmosphere in the hotel. We were very lucky to stay in the Aeron Queen room, which has awesome views out across the harbour. It was especially good to sit in the comfortable leather chairs, in front of our huge window and to feel warm and watch the world go by, the weather was settled and sunny but the late sun catches that room particularly. The bed was so very comfortable and the bathroom, with it's huge bath, was 'to die for'! The decor is very modern and bright and it was great to have coffee/teamaking supplies. There's an ironing board, hair dryer and even an umbrella provided. They seem to think of everything. Both evenings we ate in the restaurant and had fantastic food.All staff were very friendly and we liked the fact that we were given a fact sheet each morning about our waiting staff, their interests and recommendations; that was a nice touch. Breakfast was also very good, locally sourced food, cooked to perfection. All in all a perfect location for short breaks. We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the warehouse look good but Aeron Queen has the most fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstevenson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
14.1 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
14.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing