We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and restaurant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Friends had recommended The Harbourrmaster and we were not disappointed with our overnight stay. Car parking in their own car park was a real bonus in this busy little town. A lovely room and spacious bathroom n the original building overlooking the harbour. A warm welcome from the owner and afternoon tea brought to our room within minutes from friendly staff. The bar was buzzing in the evening where we enjoyed a drink before moving into the restaurant for dinner. Very good food, efficient and friendly service in attractively designed surroundings made for a very pleasant experience all round.
Would thoroughly recommend it .

Room Tip: Book a room facing the harbour in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanahShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We came to Aberaeron in great anticipation of a plate of oysters at the Harbourmaster, little realising that it was the chefs who matter and not the customer. Imagine the scene: a glorious summer's afternoon, many, many, potential customers in the vicinity, the pub looks inviting: and the kitchen's closed. I asked if there was food and was told that the food couldn't be served because the 'chefs were handing over'! Here's a tip... stagger the shifts so that there's always an overlap. The only thing on offer on this lovely afternoon was pieces of cake under film left on the bar. If the chefs/cookers need cleaning/degreasing, why oh why is there no cold menu? Oysters, lobster, dressed crab. even sandwiches??? This place is ideally situated and it singularly failed to deliver: anything. When asked, the manager(?) displayed a surliness I've rarely encountered from someone in a business dealing with the public. It indicated someone who was out of her depth, verging on the hostile and defiant. She barely had time to look up from the books to speak to me: no eye contact whatsoever. On the plus side: we saved over £30 and the minus; so did they! This place would benefit from someone in management who had some business acumen and has at least, reached the age or responsibility.

Room Tip: Bring your own food in the afternoons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Frohlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing hotel in the old harbour master building. Beautifully furnished in warm colours with deep sumptuous beds, Tolix chairs and no frills or doilies.

We stayed in the Aeron Queen which is actually in the warehouse adjacent to the main building. It has amazing harbour facing views from the large shuttered windows.

Restaurant was good, although we only had the breakfasts - full Welsh with all the trimmings.

Room Tip: The Aeron Queen - a medium-sided suite overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gav_Fergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have been visiting the Harbourmaster for around 9-10 years and each time there has been another improvement. The attention to detail is amazing - the vibrant local bar creates a buzz and the food is definitely a key strength especially the seafood. We stayed in the 'new' part in John and Henry this time and were very impressed with the layout and facilities but be warned the bathroom is directly above the kitchen air conditioning units so there is an irritating humm. Proper full sized toiletries are a welcome change to having to eek out 1 tiny sample size between us for 2 nights. The breakfast was much improved on last visit - lovely home made granola and muffins. The staff are just lovely - smart, helpful , informed and articulate. Just one small niggle - one small pot of tea between 2 is not enough for a leisurely breakfast and the offer of a top up would have been nice. Otherwise I cannot recommend the Harbourmaster enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Went over the Bank Holiday weekend for my wife's birthday.
Overall very impressed- very good food, great location and spacious rooms. Some minor niggles- yes, it is a bit expensive. Having the reception in the bar was not ideal, particularly at busy times. Food service generally very good but one or two inconsistencies, for example asked about sauces one breakfast but not the next.
The bilingual policy is a proper one-menus, signs, info- treats both languages with respect and takes Welsh beyond a mere nod to the language that many places do when they can only manage a Croeso as the extent of the Welsh. Hence the title of this posting-means very good.
Only given this 4/5 as there isn't a 4.5 rating. Save up and go there!

Room Tip: Try and go for a harbour facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely hotel with a laid back atmosphere. It's good at what it does, but it does it in a down to earth, relaxed way which enables you to enjoy your stay even more. The location is wonderful and the room was well equipped with everything we needed. The food was delicious and the service was always warm and friendly. It's hard to fault this place, the only thing I wish is that the car park was bigger as parking can be a little tricky in this popular town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oronsa, which has wonderful views of the harbour to the front and the sea to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

picturesque setting, lovely room, staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. ate in the restaurant both nights, can't fault the food or wines. great bar, busy but never had to wait long to be served, had a jug of pimms and sat out on the harbour wall in the sun. aberaeron is a lovely town to walk around with nice cafes, had honey ice cream and hot chocolate(so thick i had to use a spoon). the annual tug of war was on saturday night where 2 teams are either side of the harbour, good fun. would definately go back

Room Tip: we stayed in the cottage right on the harbour front which had 3 bedroom en suite and a communal liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
177 reviews
14.1 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
747 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
20 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: £65 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing