We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Came to the harbourmaster for a family meal with a bunch of fussy people!!

1 vegetarian, 1 celiac, 1 lactose intolerant & 1 snob!

I hate going for food with my family but, as far as I'm aware, no one ordered anything that wasn't on the menu. Everyone loved the food. Mine was amazing!

The bar staff & servers were so nice, I couldn't fault anything!

I'd definitely come back & recommend the harbourmaster to everyone!!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank HardtobeatWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Harbourmaster Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

In a lovely setting and funky bistro But.........
Food very ordinary and expensive, worst glass of rose had in years not even chilled
Young staff pleasant but more interested in chatting to each other than customers.
Disapointing

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Have been going to the Harbourmaster since it re-opened a few years ago - I've been so so proud and pleased that it has (sorry HAD) become one of the must visit eateries in Wales.
I visit there every year when I take my aunts out for a family get together and the Christmas lunch - this year was sadly a disapointment - the luncheon was was less tasty and the portions were smaller- noticed that hardly anyone was eating the Xmas lunch unlike years gone by, they all had the cheap option - soup and bread

Serving the drinks at the bar slipshod - example a Gin and Lemonade for one aunt - they used Brecon Gin, an award winning Welsh gin so a good start, it was poured into a measure and thrown at the glass and quite a bit missed.

I did a search on the place and notice it's for Sale, shame, maybe the owners have taken their eye off the ball or trying to be the VERY best, maybe the local council have pushed the business rates up astronomically and they have cut staff - don't know but I wish they were as good as they were

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teifion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a great three nights here, extremely comfortable, delicious food including scrumptious breakfast. It is very relaxing and easy, with all the staff very friendly. The bar is buzzing with locals, making for a bit of chaos in the evenings, but great atmosphere. Aberaeron is delightfully low key, with lovely walking using the coastal path. We enjoyed being able to read our books, use our room during the day and returned home feeling very spoilt. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Have visited 4 or 5 times now, and thought it was time I wrote a review. So as you will no dought have guessed, we love this place. Great location, outstanding rooms (although on the pricey side) and marvellous atmosphere in the bar, with great food. The staff are always very friendly, and Dia is great - he was very accommodating one time when our planned visited was disrupted by snow and we had to rearrange (our deposit was held against our next booking).

Can't think of a reason not to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nb1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Perfect setting, comfortable rooms with everything you need and more and beautiful food. the bilingual staff and use of the welsh language on menus and signs makes this hotel very special. I will return whenever possible

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have had numerous visits to this wonderful venue and we have always had a wonderful experience. The owners and staff have got it so very right. The atmosphere is so very comfortable and the bar meals are delicious. Definately worth a visit or stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newzealand1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
172 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
833 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
14.1 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: £65 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing