We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Used this as a stop off to Anglesey in January.

Was not expecting such a cool spot, great bar, decent grub, and friendly staff.

The room was at the top of a winding staircase, very tastefully done with a roll top bath.

My boss had a suite in the other part of the building which was superb also.

Would definitely go back...

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to the Harbourmaster on the recommendation of some friends for a mid-week mini-break.

This is a boutique hotel and it is easily one of the best properties I have ever stayed in large or small. The level of fit and finish is outstanding, and it is obvious the owners have paid a lot of attention to even the small details. The staff are all pleasant and competent. You get the feeling they cannot do enough for you.

We stayed in the 'Aeron Queen' suite. It is above the bar in a former warehouse next to the original building and overlooks the harbour from the floor-to-ceiling windows and Juliette balcony. I've stayed in rooms above the bar in other places and the noise has been horrendous. Not so here, with the windows closed it was beautifully quiet. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room was immaculately clean with nary a fault to be found in the housekeeping department. The room had quirky little details like the porthole above the bath that looks out into the sitting area of the room. The room had a Bose docking station, flat screen (Freeview) TV, DVD player, and Free WiFi. Top rate toiletries from Moulton Brown and sumptuous linens are all part of the deal too :)

We had lunch in the bar off the bar menu and it was delicious. There is a good selection of dishes that should suit just about anyone. The bar has a good selection of real ales – I had the house brand ‘HM Best Bitter’ which was tasty. Don’t forget to say hello to the albatross ;)

The wine list is a strong one ... lots to choose from at reasonable prices including some reduced price 'bin end' selections. You won’t be disappointed.

We had dinner in the restaurant, £30 per person for 3 courses. The food is outstanding; I can't praise the chef enough. My wife liked her meal so much she said she'd have had the chef's babies if she were younger!! LOL

The Harbourmaster is the kind of property that could easily end up with a Michelin Star one of these days, I think they’re just about ready for one now.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Aeron Queen Suite in the Warehouse... what a room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CT_Salop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a fabulous hotel everything was superb from entering the hotel to leaving it. The staff couldn't of been more helpful and polite, the quality of everything in the room was superb and the food delicious with a great selection the menu definetely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Book early for a choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rhian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a great position overlooking the Harbour, a small car park but plenty of parking around the hotel, very nice room, comfy bed and pillows, nice and clean. Breakfast lovely and Kate looked after us very well, nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5star199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When I recall my stays at the harbourmaster, what resonates more than the location, comfort and decor is that the staff make me feel welcome, a surprisingly rare trait in the hospitality business! The rooms are well equipped with refreshments and you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. The breakfast is top notch too. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jvafidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We treated ourselves to a fabulous weekend at The Harbourmaster in the Aeron Queen. Although it's the most expensive room, it was worth every penny to sleep with the huge doors open overlooking the harbour and the sea breeze blowing in all night. If you are looking for an early quiet night, this room is not for you on a warm summers night, as the revellers and the great atmosphere from the bar spill outside. There are lots of quieter rooms in the hotel. Bed is huge with beautiful comfy linen and pillows, bathroom has a lovely roll top bath big enough for two. The food and service is superb. Squid with chorizo, Carlingford Oysters, Lobster with Asian slaw all absolutely faultless, I could eat the Squid for my last supper! Breakfast can be taken as late as 11.45am in the bar (main menu only, no buffet but choice is perfectly adequate). Welsh rarebit was perfect brunch to set us up for lovely walk to New Quay, beautiful views. If I could add one more luxury it would be turndown service, so maybe 4.5 overall! We will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mot1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a gem of a place. Right on the harbour, looking out across the water, a sea view from some of the windows. Beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms with hairdryers, bath robes, soft slippers, homemade biscuits and proper teapigs and coffee. Bed and duvet extremely comfortable. Food is also delicious, so a stay is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
174 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: £65 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing