We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Wales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prion
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Taste of Wales”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

A short break at the Harbourmaster,our first visit,proved to be a memorable one.The location was superb.You couldn`t get any nearer to the sea!
We found the fully-bilingual staff very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.The breakfasts and evening meal all locally sourced and very tasty.Our accommodation was in a quaint cottage with a lovely large sitting room and kitchen.
For those seeking a taste of Wales in terms of food,language and culture we would recommend pretty Aberaeron and the Harbourmaster

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    107
    35
    27
    4
See reviews for
64
370
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South West London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having arrived before the room was ready we were offered complimentary tea and cake in the cafe / bar area part of which is the main hotel reception. Unusual we thought, but we grew to like this unusually unstuffy arrangement.

We witnessed enquiry after enquiry for dinner that night being turned away as the restaurant was full ( plenty of room in the bar however). Just as we went back to the reception to ask about the following night and need to book a table, the chef (later we discovered was a master chef finalist Ludo) emerged from the kitchen. Irreverent jokes about the quality of the chef provoked a reaction from him and one thing turned to another and he gave us personal recommendations for what to eat that evening. We were also treated to some experimental marmite ice cream which was as tasty as it it was confusing!

We were late diners so Ludo joined us for comments on his meal (fabulous of course) and we learned some of what was on tomorrow night's menu. We were told to ask for him the following day at tea time for another personal recommendation from his menu for our dinner that night. He even remembered a recipe I had described the previous night and insisted on cooking his version of it for me even though it was not on the menu that night. Again wonderful.

A long story to illustrate the personal touches that make this hotel so special. All the staff from reception to bar to waiting were charming and genuinely pleased to help. Our room was amazing - best in the hotel we were repeatedly told and they were right. Never seen anything like it. Huge, fabulous views and very comfortable. Can't fault it.

Aberaeron is a beautiful town with an active marina and wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Do take the walk to New Quay along the coastal path as that is truly beautiful too. Helps to work up the appetite and make Ludo's food taste even better!

We loved everything about the Harbourmaster Hotel and felt after only two nights we were leaving old friends behind when we left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a few pints from the extensive range on offer while the kids were crabbing on the quayside. Great surroundings, friendly Staff and the toilets were clean.

Very expensive though, £2 for a glass of lemonade for the grandson and most of that was ice. Alas Aberaeron is expensive.

Will be back again next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mcgregor529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend with friends from the 8th to the 11th of August. This weekend coincided with Welsh Cob Show at Alban Square which proved both interesting and enjoyable.

The staff of the Harbourmaster were very welcoming and the famous breakfast was enjoyable as always. The evening dinner menu offers a good range of locally sourced food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff690_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband booked a night in the Harbourmaster to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary.
What a treat. We arrived about 1/4 to 4 after lunch in Porthgain. to be shown to our lovely room overlooking the harbour. We were told that we could have complimentary tea and cake in the bar, a really nice touch!
The room was beautifully decorated with local textiles and pictures. There was tea coffee and water supplied along with some hand made biscuits.
We ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. The staff although young were very professional and friendly and we were told were all local.
All in all a memorable anniversary and hopefully we will return before too long.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A 'stand out' building in a beautiful area of town. Lovely harbour area, yachts, fishing for crabs, ice-cream and fish n chips. Lively boutique bar / restaurant that does b&b, staff were exceptionally pleasant and professional. Room was adequate, clean & tidy - single was small (it was a single) but the view from the window was everything!
Had a beer and breakfast only, breakfast was excellent - all in all a pleasant place to stay in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbathfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Aberaeron is a long way from England. So by the time you get there it has to be pretty magical to make you feel it's worth the distance. Arriving in the late afternoon with the sun sparkling on the sea made it feel like we'd arrived in paradise. You drive down into the town with the pastel coloured houses and the lights twinkling and you feel your spirits lifting. The hotel, in a former dock warehouse is beautifully appointed and the life and soul of the area. There are two eating areas, the quieter back room for those in the hotel and the buzzy bar area which has the non-residents. We preferred the bar and the menu there which is less reliant on sea food and fish. All the food is delicious, well presented and fresh. The décor is cool and metallic and the staff young and attentive. We certainly enjoyed our stay and would particularly recommend the breakfasts. The range of options is impressive and includes pancakes, porridge, lava bread, Welsh rarebit and eggy bread. You can't fault the service or the food. Yes it's expensive, but we really enjoyed our stay and would return if it wasn't such a long way.

Room Tip: Stay in the Cottage. It's self catering without the self catering. There's a lounge and ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryFamily_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing