We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Designer room with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourmaster Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Designer room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in room 20. This is a large and very well designed room with amazing bath, decoration and view. Food was very good. We struggled to get a table in the bar on nights but when we did it was worth it. Would have been nice if guests could have booked tables in the bar given how much we were paying for the room. We are not big fish eaters so the main restaurant menu was limited for us. Deserts amazing and basil ice cream mmm. Good range of drinks and staff very good at quick service. Breakfast very nice with granola, croissants and a good choice of hot food. The loss of one star was because we could not book a bar table and on one evening thought we would never get a meal. Also our room was above the entrance to the bar and for several hours one afternoon a group of very loud and rude drinkers dominated the atmosphere. Swearing and telling rude jokes. It would have been good if management had thought about families and the effect this group was having and moved them on.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    102
    33
    27
    3
See reviews for
61
357
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on our tour of Wales which coincided with our anniversary. Arriving on a gloriously sunny afternoon, the setting was wonderful, right on the harbour with crab fishing right outside our window.
We had the spectacular Aeron Queen room wonderful view, really roomy and a very quirky bathroom complete with porthole!
We dined in to celebrate and had a lovely meal, having the lobster and the haddock: two ways.
The breakfasts were really good too with an excellent granola selection and a varied hot food choice.
A special stay......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prion
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

A short break at the Harbourmaster,our first visit,proved to be a memorable one.The location was superb.You couldn`t get any nearer to the sea!
We found the fully-bilingual staff very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.The breakfasts and evening meal all locally sourced and very tasty.Our accommodation was in a quaint cottage with a lovely large sitting room and kitchen.
For those seeking a taste of Wales in terms of food,language and culture we would recommend pretty Aberaeron and the Harbourmaster

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having arrived before the room was ready we were offered complimentary tea and cake in the cafe / bar area part of which is the main hotel reception. Unusual we thought, but we grew to like this unusually unstuffy arrangement.

We witnessed enquiry after enquiry for dinner that night being turned away as the restaurant was full ( plenty of room in the bar however). Just as we went back to the reception to ask about the following night and need to book a table, the chef (later we discovered was a master chef finalist Ludo) emerged from the kitchen. Irreverent jokes about the quality of the chef provoked a reaction from him and one thing turned to another and he gave us personal recommendations for what to eat that evening. We were also treated to some experimental marmite ice cream which was as tasty as it it was confusing!

We were late diners so Ludo joined us for comments on his meal (fabulous of course) and we learned some of what was on tomorrow night's menu. We were told to ask for him the following day at tea time for another personal recommendation from his menu for our dinner that night. He even remembered a recipe I had described the previous night and insisted on cooking his version of it for me even though it was not on the menu that night. Again wonderful.

A long story to illustrate the personal touches that make this hotel so special. All the staff from reception to bar to waiting were charming and genuinely pleased to help. Our room was amazing - best in the hotel we were repeatedly told and they were right. Never seen anything like it. Huge, fabulous views and very comfortable. Can't fault it.

Aberaeron is a beautiful town with an active marina and wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Do take the walk to New Quay along the coastal path as that is truly beautiful too. Helps to work up the appetite and make Ludo's food taste even better!

We loved everything about the Harbourmaster Hotel and felt after only two nights we were leaving old friends behind when we left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a few pints from the extensive range on offer while the kids were crabbing on the quayside. Great surroundings, friendly Staff and the toilets were clean.

Very expensive though, £2 for a glass of lemonade for the grandson and most of that was ice. Alas Aberaeron is expensive.

Will be back again next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mcgregor529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend with friends from the 8th to the 11th of August. This weekend coincided with Welsh Cob Show at Alban Square which proved both interesting and enjoyable.

The staff of the Harbourmaster were very welcoming and the famous breakfast was enjoyable as always. The evening dinner menu offers a good range of locally sourced food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff690_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband booked a night in the Harbourmaster to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary.
What a treat. We arrived about 1/4 to 4 after lunch in Porthgain. to be shown to our lovely room overlooking the harbour. We were told that we could have complimentary tea and cake in the bar, a really nice touch!
The room was beautifully decorated with local textiles and pictures. There was tea coffee and water supplied along with some hand made biscuits.
We ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. The staff although young were very professional and friendly and we were told were all local.
All in all a memorable anniversary and hopefully we will return before too long.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
14.1 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
14.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing