We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than ideal dinner experience marred an otherwise pleasant stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Less than ideal dinner experience marred an otherwise pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The location of this hotel is super and our room was delighteful with good facilities and excellent views through all windows. However our dining experince was not at satisfactory. We dined in the dining room as opposed to the bistro area. Skipping a first course, we then waited an hour for our main! When it arrived the welsh black fillet was luke warm and no staff to be seen. After another lenghty wait to place a pudding order we decided to retire for the evening. Breakfast however was excellent with a wide choice.
Reaction to our observations on the dinner on our departure was not really satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audifans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    107
    35
    27
    4
See reviews for
64
370
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stayed in pen cei next door but came here for dinner and coffees the next day. We ate in the bar which on a saturday night was jam packed and really buzzing with a fabulous lively atmosphere without being too noisy or in your face. We had to fight for a table! I had fish and chips which were great and my partner had the burger which he claimed was the best he'd ever had. We are big foodies and although this wasn't high-end gastronomy it was hearty and well made and incredibly enjoyable. Some of the wine has a very high percentage!!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed at the harbourmaster on their special Sunday deal with dinner included. The room was absolutely fantastic with wonderful blankets and a massive bathroom. Dinner was fine, although a little overpriced. breakfast was great as was the atmosphere in the hotel generally. They did try to add about £30 to our bill at the end for dinner which we had already paid for. Although this left a slight sour taste in our mouth we would definitely go back to this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collegefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We were hesitant to stay here after the previous review but the harbour looked so beautiful in the sunset and we were tired. We had not booked and took advantage of the mid-week offer - a bit over our budget but we wanted a treat. We were not disappointed...in fact we fell completely in love with the hotel and Aberaeron. We have lived, traveled and eaten in many countries and visiting this part of Wales on a family research trip were delighted with the warm welcome and great food. Our room was fun with funky but sympathetic design and a gorgeous view over the harbour. A small gripe was the very weak internet connection and the fact that the TV was on the tiny table - so it was impossible to watch TV and work at the same time. The room was a bit small but quite comfortable with a small sofa, a lovely big comfortable bed with a soft feather duvet and a large bathroom with Molten Brown amenities. Even a hot water-bottle - in the matching colours of the decor - was provided for our comfort on a bitterly cold night.
After the bad review below we were not expecting a great dining experience, but our food was perfectly cooked and delicious. I had a beetroot and goat's cheese salad and the cheese was so melt-in-the-mouth that I wanted to find out more and was told that it was a local cheese from Pembroke. The waiter brought an extra piece for my husband to sample and we agreed that it was better than any goat's cheese we had tasted in the South of France where we spend much of our time.
The food was exceptional and i think the last reviewer must have had a one-off bad experience.
The staff were warm, chatty and friendly and we are so glad we took the risk to stay at this lovely B&B - we only wished that we could have stayed for very much longer. Aberaeron is so beautiful with the pretty coloured houses overlooking the lovely harbour and the West coast of Wales is stunning, even on a wintry day in December.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I travel regularly for business, and had been invited to join a "night out" with colleagues. I had heard of and read about the Harbourmaster Hotel, and looked forward to a great meal. Sadly, I was let down. A lovely setting, a lovely bar and restaurant. The staff were attentive and helpful, but sadly the food was nigh on atrocious. Salmon roulade that was still frozen, pheasant that was tough and ended up left on the plate, and a Christmas pudding that the spoon nearly bent on! Vegetables were well cooked, but under seasoned. If it was a one off, one could forgive, but my colleagues having the same all agreed. What a shame, for an otherwise well decorated, well advertised venue. Luckily, the night was made better with good wines and good company (the latter supplied by ourselves!)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodie2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

A return visit after several years - the first was after the deservedly-ecstatic early reviews.
Rooms very comfortable and well-appointed - and my repeat visit was recognised with a note and jar of local honey (nice touch). Staff are friendly and welcoming, and the locals still drop in (good). First time the proprietors were much in evidence : not this time, and there was the odd sign of the personal touch being lost . First night's dinner was good - though some portion-sizes were definitely on the urban (i.e. what can we get away with?) side. Second night was a disappointment: asked whether we'd like our celebratory champagne brut or rose, we said the former and got the latter; beef carpaccio came on hot plates`and thus was luke-warm; scallops portion was half the size of previous evening; fillet steak requested rare came medium++ and its replacement cold. Promised that there would be a reduction on the dinner bill, there was no mention at check-out next morning, and no-one available to ask. Follow up e-mail was dealt with quickly and positively - but (as discussed with duty management at the time) these things shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed at the Harbourmaster 2 years ago, and liked it so much we came back on our honeymoon! We had the Madona suite at the top of the hotel which was fabulous, beautifully done and lots of character, plus great views.

We ate in the restaurant both nights, food was good but not spectacular. Bar is a lovely spot for a few pre-dinner drinks however

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambergatekirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing