We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed in the little cottage next door but one that belongs to the hotel - only us there so we had the whole place to ourselves. The weather was fierce but we had a fantastic time, we were made to feel very welcome and not fussed over. Bedroom was very comfortable and loved the bathroom which was huge and all immaculate. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner, great wine list. Stayed one night at Bodysgallen on the way home which almost cost us more than three nights at the Harbourmaster and was very disappointing. Harbourmaster much better value for money. Aberaeron is a really pretty town too. It was perfect and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    107
    35
    27
    4
See reviews for
64
370
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We stayed at the hotel for one night and ate there too.

The room we had was really lovely. Nicely laid out with a seperate seating area with amazing views over the marina. All the furnishings were comfy, new and modern.

I was disappointed with the food though. I had fishcakes as a starter and they were OK if fairly tasteless and dry, and had crab risotto to follow. The presentation of the risotto wasn't great as it was served on its own in a bowl with no garnish and so looked rather like an unappetising bowl of school gruel. In addition, the dish contained raw onion. It hadn't been cooked at all and so was very strong in flavour as well as giving the risotto an odd, crunchy consistency. Teamed with the chopped hot chilli pepper, I couldn't taste any crab at all.

I did receive an apology and the offer of another meal, as well as the cost of the risotto being deducted from the bill, so hats off to the staff for that.

I would go back and give the restaurant another chance as my companions said their food was fine and I haven't seen any other poor food reviews so wonder if this was a one off.

Lovely place overall and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Breathtaking harbour views
  • Disliked — Poor food
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our birthdays and were very impressed with hotel. The bedroom was great - gorgeous views over the harbour, very comfortable king sized bed, flat screen television and DVD player (with the option of borrowing a selection of DVDs for free from the hotel), with lovely Molton Brown bathroom products and snuggly bathrobes provided. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Nothing bad to report with the food either - plenty of choice for breakfast with delicious local organic eggs, bacon and sausages and we enjoyed tasty steaks from the evening bar menu.

  • Liked — Location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2007

We stayed at this hotel after reading positive reviews in the press.
We were celebrating a special birthday and it was important that the trip was a success. Even the weather was perfect! Aberaeron is such a
beautiful town and the hotel overlooks the harbour, with views out to
sea - so relaxing. The bed was more comfortable than our own. The Molton Brown in the bathroom was a treat. The food was excellent - so fresh and good to try local specialities. Everything was very clean, especially in the restaurant. The staff were attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Waiting for the toast!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetpeaChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

This is a great little hotel situated overlooking the harbour, within an attractive little welsh town. The room was well appointed with a couple of flat screen tv's, rolltop bath, king bed and the most powerful shower we have experienced. We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant and the bar, both of which were excellent. The food lived up to its reputation. What sets this place apart is the thought that has gone into the guests stay. You really feel at home. The staff are friendly and the service attentive. All in all this is how a hotel should be. I love places like this and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thurmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

On a recent trip to Wales we found mention of the Harbourmasters Hotel in a locally produced, very good quality, brochure, whose name escapes me! We travelled there on a beautiful sunny day and called in for a coffee (extremely good capuccino & ameretti). Situated right next to the harbour wall you can take your drinks outside and admire the pretty village and boats going about their business. What a little gem! Welcoming, sophisticated, beautifully decorated in a "seaside" style. I have to say this hotel single-handedly changed my view on Wales generally. Though Wales is a beautiful place I have never found the hospitality that warm and have always gone armed with a good food guide as there are a thousand opportunities to have a bad meal, but now I am a convert. We booked a table for dinner, which was really excellent, both the meat and the fish dishes. Puddings too were first rate. The restaurant is informal and buzzing with people obviously enamoured with this hotel. The staff are young, smart and charming. We were so impressed we booked for another two nights and it would have been three if they hadn't been fully booked. The general feel of Aberaeron is upmarket, possibly due to The Harbourmaster's in part, and we also had a really excellent lunch at The Hive on the Quay of fresh grilled mackerel with a wonderful mediterranean salad and some of the best bread I've eaten, not to mention their ice-creams. Next door to The Hive is a fishmongers with a mouthwatering selection of fresh seafood. Aberaeron is a gem. A beautiful little harbour, pastel coloured houses and a quiet sophistication. This is probably helped by the fact that it doesn't have a sandy beach so has not become a major mass tourism destination. Top Marks for a lovely Welsh experience.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Comophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2005

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a short break at the HarbourMaster Hotel in Aberaeron, in Wales.

The hotel is situated in the most picturesque and delightful of coastal towns and is the epitome of Boutique chic.

The Room - Was spotless and comfortable
The Decor - The very best of stylish boutique design
The Cuisine - Out of this world - one of the best meals I've ever had.
The Setting - breathtaking and unforgettable.
The Staff - friendly and accommodating.

It’s reasonably priced and well worth every penny!

C Couchman

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing