We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Llanerchaeron

Llanerchaeron
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Aberaeron
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An elegant Georgian villa, set in the wooded Aeron valley. Remarkably unaltered for over 200 years, this self-sufficient estate includes a farm, walled gardens and lake.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Do not usually visit national trust properties as I find them too expensive having two daughters now classed as adults.
The walled gardens and the outbuildings are interesting although not in the best of conditions.
The house we found good as it was different to the large houses that are usually visited, you could imagine yourself living here
Worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    110
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
235 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Delightful gem of a house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visited the National Trust's Llanerchaeron house and having looked online expected quite a small house and garden but were pleasantly surprised by the scale of the property.
The house is lovely and much as you would expect of a Georgian property but the service courtyard is wonderful with a host of rooms including cheese making, laundry etc.
There are extensive walled gardens and several walks in the estate grounds near to the Afon Aeron - which we didn't have time to enjoy.
There is a 4km cycle route from Llanerchaeron to Aberaeron which looks delightful

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“National Trust hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Went with our kids (age 5 and 2), on a wet, miserable August day, with the intention of popping in for an hour or so, but had to drag them away when the place was closing! I was expecting a small place with not much to do, but there's beautiful walks in a lovely forest, a fantastic house, a farm with lots of animals, pretty gardens and a barn showing farm machinery (which our 5 year old son loved!).
My main compliment would be to the volunteers who work in the house - we've been to many NT houses, but have never experienced such friendly, knowledgeable staff, who were fantastic with our children.
Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something a little more modern!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our morning here. We came to a soap making event which was fantastic and the kids loved it, there was also a local Sadler and leather maker on site whose work was fantastic and made you appreciate the value of the lost skills of handmade leather goods. The gardens were beautiful and full of beautiful colour and scent. The house was more modern which is great to see and we even recognised some items out grandparents used to have. Great place to visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becks4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Half Day Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

National Trust members, we really enjoyed our visit to the old house & farm, but particularly the latter. With farm animals running free, our dog could only be walked on woodland paths outside, but that was fine. The House was interesting with at least two enthusiastic staff keen to show around. Bought a lovely marrow which we enjoyed stuffed the following day. Will probably return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Llanerchaeron also viewed

Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 
Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach), Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 

Been to Llanerchaeron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing