We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Monachty Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 34 Restaurants in Aberaeron
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Monachty is a traditional seaside pub and hotel, situated in the beautiful town of Aberaeron in Ceredigion. The Monachty features a brasserie restaurant with an extensive fresh menu, spacious beer garden and stunning views of the harbour.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I and a long lost friend had a beef Sunday lunch yesterday 24th June.
Whilst the veg was basic and acceptable, it was nearly impossible to slice the beef, like rubber. Looking nice it was however very very difficult to cut with a knife, and most was left uneaten. The crumble as sweet was lumpy to say the least and again left uneaten.
In hindsight we we should have complained as we were entertaining a friend after a period of years and it really ruined the reunion.We did not really want to cause embarrassment. We live locally and a simple Sunday lunch should be reasonably easy, not in this case.
Needless to say we had to apologize for the very poor lunch and will not be returning!
Reputation is damaged big time, I do not to say any more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank evans0rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent visit to the Monachty. it is only though feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

Sorry to hear that your beef was tough and I am sure if it was brought to our attention at the time we would have replaced, the crumble contains slices of apple and fruit that's why it looked lumpy.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Oh dear. Did not start well. A dog at an adjacent table decided to defecate!!! Of course we moved to another area, food was good but the dog Issue was ever constant! When will food places realise that dogs and people don’t really mix. We shall not be frequenting any restaurant in future that welcome ‘well behaved dogs’

Thank Elwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, usually we have designated area where Dogs are welcome which is the front bar and we have the restaurant area where Dogs are not allowed, the matter was not mention to us at the time otherwise we would have done something about it, so next time please ask a member of staff to set you in the right place.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This is a nice place for a drink as it is very dog friendly. Food is pub grub type - filling but nothing amazing.
The pub had a major refurb quite a while ago and it is now starting to look grubby. Carpets are quite dirty and furniture needs replacing.
The staff are nice and friendly.

Thank ZacMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Team Monachty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Called in for lunch after a walk around the town and harbour.
More than pleasantly surprised by the food- best lasagne I think I have ever had! Rest of families food superb and staff were extremely friendly.

Thank estellehope7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you very much for such great review!
We work really hard to offer the best food in the best possible environment, so I am happy to see that reflected on your last visit. Hope to see you again soon!
Team Monachty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely meal this evening at the Monachty. The staff were pleasant and polite and ran the restaurant with efficiency. Food was reasonably priced and tasty. Our waiter, Iwan, looked after us well.Thank you all.

Thank 945georginae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you very much for such great review! we work really hard to offer the best food in the best possible environment, so I am happy to see that reflected on your last visit, I made sure that Iwan got the recognition he deserved, He was very happy to see your review.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monachty Restaurant also viewed

Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
 

Been to Monachty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing