We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good B AND B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2012

stayed here a while back the room we had was quirky with a homely feel ,we stayed in a double facing the harbour gorgeous views to see on a sunny morning.I agree with the other reveiwers the breakfast was superb ,very generous.If i am staying in that area again i certainly would use this B AND B .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipdavies12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Myself and my wife visited Aberaeron on spec earlier this week and booked into Arosfa - What a pleasant surprise! Bill was the perfect host his greeting was warm and he could not have been more attentive to our requirments and needs.

You must vivit this guesthouse if for his breakfasts alone they are superb - His daughter runs the restraunt and again absolutely superb food. In season local produce prepared with knowledge, experience and love - We are already thinking of our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

At Arosfa we were greeted by friendly landlord and welcomed log burner to dry our soggy walking boots.
Our room was spacious, comfy and stocked with yummy biscuits to snack on before dinner.
The landlords daughter cooks in the B&B and out of convenience we chose to eat in - that was the best decision of the holiday. The food was fantastic at dinner and the chef even catered for my sister's fussy tastes.
The breakfast menu was varied and unusual - I would highly recommend the Celtic Laver Bread.
I would definately look to return to this great little find, in an ideal location on the Coastal path.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We've just returned from a short stay in West Wales to celebrate a family birthday. We chose this guest house because of its location and good feedback and we were not disappointed.
The meal that we had last night was fabulous and the breakfast this morning was up to the same high standard. Bill and the staff were extremely helpful with my disabled mother in law and we were all made to feel very welcome. The talented chef even went the extra mile with our own birthday cake helping to make Pauline's day extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hill_Family211012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our reception, the harbour-view, sunshine streaming through onto our breakfast table. It was all good. No, actually it was great.
And this B+B has just recently started offering a gourmet dinner experience (charged separately). Fine dining at it's best. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Room was small with small sized double bed (as pre-warned by the owner). I actually hit my head against the wall-mounted tv but the cramped room was well worth the breakfast the next day. We had grilled mackerel with scrambled eggs which tasted fantastic. The fish was fresh & juicy and the scrambled eggs were deliciously soft. Truly one of the best B&B breakfasts I've ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend had a great time both in Abreraeron and Arosfa. Our room was pretty, cosy and a bit old-fashioned, but it felt good in that particular place. Big TV, clean bathroom, everything working well, I coudn't have any complaint about it.
Breakfast at Arosfa is another thing too. Welsh breakfast - too fat for me, but well, I guess that's a local thing. Big variety of fruit, cereals, yogurts, so there's a balance to becon and sousages ;)
Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi.
Nice views, harbour very close, lovely restaurants nearby (Harbourmaster!).
I liked it a lot there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
173 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Hazeldene B&B
Hazeldene B&B
#8 of 12 in Aberaeron
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse

Address: Harbourside, Aberaeron SA46 0BU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: £72 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, quality accommodation for that special weekend or get-a-way break•Winter Break 3 nights for 2 from 1st November to 31st March excluding Bank Holidays•Real Comfort in centrally heated accommodation with modern double glazing• A memorable choice of imaginative Welsh Breakfasts that includes Celtic laver bread, smoked fish, traditional home cured bacon and tasty vegetarian dishes •Coastal path outside the front door•Harbour views and sofa comforts•In town but away from the main road. Close to the water's edge, shops and restaurants •Delightful ground floor accommodation with sun lounge and lovely views•Free, well lit overnight parking close by•All rooms en-suite; single, double, triple or small family•100% no smoking policy •Digital TV and free Wi-FI•Our friendly, efficient team hope to see you soon. The bedrooms all have their individual features that you would expect from a house built during the middle of the 19th century. Arosfa retains all its character from that period and is surrounded by similar fine Georgian properties that together make a handsome square with Pwll Cam (the Inner Harbour) at its centre. The fine Georgian house was originally built in the 1850's by a family from nearby Cardigan as a home and probable provisions store. This period was Aberaeron's heyday when a large part of the town was constructed. Arosfa is ideally situated in the town, on the harbour yet still only a short walk to the shops with the convenience of the small free harbour car park close by. There are no hills to worry about and you can take short walks along the quay and seaside promenade or up the riverside footpath which takes you over "Lovers Bridge" and into the park. The surrounding area has an abundance of interesting places to visit within a short drive or bus ride. To name a few there is Devils Bridge, reached by the narrow gauge railway, Roman Gold mines at Pumpsaint, Llanwernog Lead and Silver Mine, Llanerchaeron Mansion, National Botanic Garden of Wales, Aberystwyth Cliff Railway, the ancient Strata Florida Monastery and much more.Since our AA Award we have been continually refining our Welsh Breakfast fayre and there is now more choice than ever and we hope you enjoy it. We think our home cured bacon is something really special and we are always looking for something new to do with laver bread. One very refined elderly welsh lady dared herself to try this most Welsh of Welsh dishes for the first time. She thoroughly enjoyed it and was instantly converted to being a 'Bara Lawr' fan. Chilled Breakfast BarStart with a wonderful selection of fresh fruits, cereals, local cheeses yogurts and our own muesli that is available from the Chilled Breakfast Bar. Then enjoy one of our delicious cooked breakfasts: Grilled Fish, Fresh Filleted Mackerel, Freshly landed in Aberaeron during the season. Gently grilled and served with lemon and scrambled egg. Whole Smoked Kipper, Traditional, natural smoked kipper served on the bone with all the trimmings and scrambled egg. Arosfa Grilled Breakfasts: Our Welsh bacon comes from a local piggery where the pigs are reared outside in a natural way, feeding in fields or woods. We cut the bacon on the premises and serve it with local free range eggs and pork sausages made by our butcher. See if you can taste the difference. Traditional Breakfast: Two Thick Welsh Bacon rashers with pork sausage and fresh egg cooked to your liking. Full Welsh Breakfast: A favorite with many of our guests. Three Thick Welsh Bacon rashers, pork sausage and two gently fried eggs. Local Home Cured Bacon and Egg: This is the bacon that your grandfather would have had for breakfast. Being dry cured over time the old fashioned way it is different in texture and flavour, delicious. Welsh Black Pudding Two Welsh bacon rashers, a fried egg and 4 juicy rings of Pwdin Du. Celtic Laver Bread - 'Bara Lawr ' A delicacy that captures a unique flavour from the sea shore. Harvested edible seaweed that has been enjoyed locally for centuries and is still very popular today. Rolled in oats and lightly pan fried in olive oil;•Served with bacon and fried egg•Penclawdd Cockles and poached egg•Welsh Black Pudding and poached egg•Smoked haddock and poached egg•Or for vegetarians with lemon, mushrooms, tomato and filled with sliced, cooked apple if you wish. Local Cured Ham A lighter breakfast served chilled with melon and toasted home made bread, New Laid Eggs, Free Range eggs from a local farm. Boiled, Poached or Scrambled to your liking with toasted homemade bread. Beverages: There is a choice of various teas; Indian, Chinese, Earl Grey, and Fruit or Herbal. We have freshly brewed cafetiere coffee as well as instant or decaffeinated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse Hotel Aberaeron
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing