We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable stay at the Feathers Royal Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feathers Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Feathers Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay at the Feathers Royal Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My partner was attending a graduation at the University of Trinity Saint David in Lampeter on the Friday and when in Wales, he wanted to stay by the seaside. So when two friends of his also going to the same function booked into the Feathers Royal Hotel at Aberaeron, he booked a room for us there as well. There is no lift in the hotel, so when we arrived we were directed to drive round and park at the back of the hotel so that we could bring hour heavy suitcases in through the back door through the corridor on the first floor to our room. We stayed for three nights in room 2 at the front of the hotel. The hotel (and our room) was facing a traffic junction so I was worried there would be noise from the traffic at night. There was a heat wave in the UK at the time so we had to sleep with open windows. We did hear some traffic but not as much as I had feared. The room itself had a large double bed, two armchairs, a side table, a writing desk with chair, TV and a teas-made etc. inside a cabinet. The wardrobe had just a few clothes hangers but when I asked for more, these arrived quickly within a few minutes. The bathroom was spacious with a large tub but there was hardly anywhere for us to put our toiletries. We were in the UK for 14 days so had brought the pills, potions and lotions that we wanted for that time space. The shelf above the hand basin was in no way adequate, and in the end we had to use a small ledge under the basin next to the bath tub as well as the back top of the toilet. A small table with shelves would have been appropriate in the bathroom for guests to use. There was no WiFi in the room but modem over a cable, so at least he could use his portable pc. My partner is often working even when he’s on holiday, so being on-line is important. We both have mini iPads which we could not use on-line in the room, or his iPhone. When we went down into the lounge and bar area however the WiFi worked perfectly. Also in the dining room the WiFi forked for the iPads and iPhone.
When we visited our friends (room 10) at the back of the hotel facing the parking, there was a large machine outside their window making a lot of noise (air conditioning unit?). They didn't seem to be disturbed by this however and didn't mention it later either. Breakfast the first morning was fine, there was a large German coach group staying but this was not a problem. Orders from the kitchen were eggs any way we wanted, mushrooms, bacon, tomatoes etc. There was also a selection of cornflakes, jams and yoghurts, fruit etc. The second morning however the lady in charge of the breakfast room was apparently very stressed over something (staff missing?) and we had to wait a long time. The third morning (Friday) we were leaving early to travel to Lampeter but the cross lady refused to let us into the breakfast room or place any orders before they opened.
For dinner when we arrived on the first day we asked for the best fish/seafood restaurant in Aberaeron and were promptly told that was the Feathers! This turned out to be perfectly true for what we ordered, scallops and king prawns, these dishes were absolutely fantastic!! We both love seafood and when staying at the seaside we order this every day. The third evening (when dining with our friends) we had the scallops and king prawns again but this time the same dishes were much more mediocre, when we asked why we were told there was another chef in the kitchen (than who had prepared our meals the first evening).
From when we arrived until when we left, we were puzzling over why this hotel was described/listed as being a 5* hotel? We both think this is somewhat misleading as anyone who has travelled in Europe or stayed in larger 5* hotels in cities will be expecting something else. For the sake of good order we were not looking for a 5* experience and only booked a room because our friends had done so already but that is not the point here. The presentation of the breakfast buffet needs some serious upgrading - the selection while we were there can be described as sparse, and in no way what may be expected in a 5* hotel. Neither have I ever heard of any 5* hotel without a lift where guests have to bring their own heavy suitcases in through the back door. At no time did any staff offer to help us with luggage, other than suggesting that we use the back door, instead of struggling up the stairs. The Feathers was perfectly comfortable, the service good (apart from breakfast) and is no doubt the best hotel in Aberaeron but a 5*? No, that is something different.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    67
    17
    3
    14
See reviews for
32
102
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Davids, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The staff are exceptionally friendly and the owner-manager Lee or her husband Richard seem ever-present and available for any query, or just for a chat.
A pleasant traditional building fronted by a picturesque floral cart and a lovely horse statue overlooking a quiet park in the middle of this pretty town. It is only a short walk to local amenities and you can easily stroll down to the seaside promenade if you wish.
The rooms are clean tidy and well-furnished with ensuite bathroom and/or shower facilities and the usual remote-controlled TV and coffee or tea maker.
There is a comfortable bar and sitting area with lots of lovely deep sofas and chairs, an excellent place to while away a little time.
The dining and breakfast areas are spacious and quiet, with the usual self-serve facility for cereals, and a full menu that will provide you with a variety of cooked options that are promptly served and nicely prepared.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAndEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed just the one night passing through on our way home from a visit to North Wales. The hotel is excellent. Our room had plenty of space, a comfortable bed, coffee and tea making facilities and flat screen tv. Bathroom was spacious with a bath and great power shower. Very clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Staff very friendly. Good location with shops, cafe's and pubs all within a short walk away. Well placed for visiting Aberstwyth and Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAD6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at the Feathers Royal for 3 nights on a last minute booking online. Hotel was really nice, staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely decor In bedroom, had a sunken bath which is probably more appropriate for the more agile person, but room was kept really clean with good variety of complimentary drinks, biscuits and bottled water. Very enjoyable breakfast, good selection on the breakfast menu.
Hotel in superb location near pubs, restaurants, cafes and harbour, and not to far to travel to Newquay or Aberystwth

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here for one night. Service was very good and the room spacious and comfortable. It's in the heart of Aberaeron so close to shops, pubs etc. Good quality breakfast. No wi-fi in the room but a broadband connection is provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmp0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booking in online was hassle free. Stayed a couple of nights in a clean and comfortable room. Decor was what can be described as charming. The 'Bathroom' turned out to have no bath but an excellent shower. The one evening meal we had was of good quality, however the menu was not the same as the one in the room, which caused a little confusion until we were told that the menu in the room was only a sample menu - though this wasn't clear. We ordered the half lobster on the specials board but both came without the promised prawns. The chef had forgotten to include them on the plate. We were offered an apology and a reduction in the meal price, which we accepted. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. Would recommend a stay here. We will certainly return if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat186442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

we was just passing through aberaeron we just fell in love with it. then we was so lucky to find the feathers royal.we had a lovely room with a lovely view. all the staff were friendly + helpful.we met the manager when we paid bill he was so helpful we had noticed all the pictures in hotel of a local artist.the gentleman gave us a calendar of these paintings so we can get in touch with artist.how kind is that.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
11.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
7.0 mi away
Penrhos Park
Penrhos Park
#1 of 1 in Llanrhystyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feathers Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Royal Hotel

Property: Feathers Royal Hotel
Address: Alban Square, Aberaeron SA46 0AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Feathers Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Feathers Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Royal Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing