We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, very friendly!”
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #2 of 10 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I came to the Conwy/Colwyn Bay area over the bank holiday weekend to have a base and explore this part of North Wales. We had a great holiday and this Guest House contributed much to it. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfast is excellent and the owners, Chris and Ian, are very friendly. They gave us some ideas which places to visit, which were excellent suggestions (thank you!). The B&B is not far from the sea and it is quiet at night. Colwyn Bay is not as busy as Conwy or Llandudno (it is smaller), but it is a great base and these towns are just a short drive away. We will definitively coming back to this Guest House if we are in the area. Excellent stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carsten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Ellingham House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked this guest house for one night as my husband was attending a meeting in the area. What a mistake - we wished we could have stayed much longer. The welcome on arrival was friendly, fresh milk brought to the room, tea and biscuits laid out ready, and lots of advice on local restaurants and attractions. The bathroom was sumptuous, lots of fluffy towels, gallons of hot water, and snuggly bathrobes. The bedroom was superbly furnished with bright delightful aspects. In the morning breakfast was amazing and far better than many much more espensive hotels I have stayed in. Definitely well worth its five star rating. We now need an excuse to stay for longer next time, as we shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakota63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights it was immaculately clean, well presented, and friendly.

Ian & Chris are lovely. On hand to give you ideas of places of interest etc. But not in your face like some can be.

I would happily return here! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A very comfortable stay at this immaculate Guest House, bedroom was a delight and so was the huge bathroom we felt we were in a scene from Downtown Abbey. Lovely breakfast, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ellingham House is the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Quiet location and a short walk to the beach. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They recommended lovely restaurants to go to in the evenings and activities for the days. It was great to know we were the first guests to go swimming in the sea. It was a truly great stay, thank you. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a great stay at Ellingham House. Ian and Chris are genuine, relaxed and welcoming people.

Our room was lovely (room 5) and comfortable with a large en suite bathroom and a great shower. The breakfasts were tasty you could have variations of really scrummy cooked breakfasts, toast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, juices etc. and plenty of tea and coffee.

We appreciated local hints and tips on places to go, we loved all our trips out, it’s such a beautiful corner of Wales.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank travellerdeb_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Myself. partner and dog Charles...had a lovely stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The room was stunning and the breakfast was absolutely beautiful. We stayed for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely return in the future. Thanks to the owners who made our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, it was really large with a beautiful shower.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
535 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
57 reviews
4.6 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range: £89 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing