We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr Russell ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #1 of 11 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DERBYSHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr Russell ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Superb, quality with a touch of elegance.
I stayed with my little jack russell dog and we enjoyed the luxury of Ellingham House. We were made very welcome and I enjoyed a great breakfast of kippers.

I will be back again soon!
Highly recommended to anyone visiting north Wales

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PETE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
180
18
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Ellingham House. This is a very elegant and luxurious Victorian house with high quality, traditional furnishings and spacious, contemporary bathrooms. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was warm, inviting and spotlessly clean. A wide variety of cereals, fruit and beautifully cooked food was available for breakfast. We loved the attention to detail, including china cups and saucers, cloth napkins and a wide selection of games, books and dvds to choose from.

Room Tip: View Ellingham House website as all rooms are shown. Room 1 is the largest room and has a bath as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wjrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
did48, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello and many thanks for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your 3 days with us and hope to see you both again.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I've just come back from a 2 night stay in Ellingham House with work and i must say it's pretty much flawless, excellently presented, spotlessly clean as others have said and most of all tastefully kitted out. Good peaceful location for exploring the town and well priced too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Lovely attention to detail, the books, lighting, teddy bear, quality TV and DVD with dine in option (though went to The Toad which was a short walk and excellent food) jacuzzi bath (very welcome after a weeks camping - even if it was technically glamping) very pleasing interior decor, beautiful four poster with sleep enhancing linen. And to top it all most welcoming of our dogs - so nice to have dog friendly luxury!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

18th August
We needed to stay in the area for one night at the last minute so rang up on the off chance; luckily a cancellation had come in that day. The warm and efficient welcome made us feel comfortable from the start. The peaceful and relaxing bedroom at the top of the house offered superb views over the sea. Immaculately presented rooms/house with all possible needs catered for, was a refreshing change to some previous accommodation we had stayed at in North Wales.
The recommendations given for an evening meal were well received and accurate. We tried The Toad and were presently surprised at the quality of food. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and nicely presented, the small menu meant no delays when serving and hot dishes were served on warmed plates. A short visit but one that left us in good sprit. I'd definitely look to stay again, many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_ellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Every August Bank Holiday I am persuaded to join my husband on a visit to Wales to see about 10 football matches in a specially organised 'football hop' but in order for me to agree to accompany him I insist on good accommodation and this year we did exceptionally well in choosing Ellingham House to stay. A lovely house beautifully furnished with welcoming hosts, good breakfast and an excellent room.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good but we wanted a bath and shower so chose room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I came to the Conwy/Colwyn Bay area over the bank holiday weekend to have a base and explore this part of North Wales. We had a great holiday and this Guest House contributed much to it. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfast is excellent and the owners, Chris and Ian, are very friendly. They gave us some ideas which places to visit, which were excellent suggestions (thank you!). The B&B is not far from the sea and it is quiet at night. Colwyn Bay is not as busy as Conwy or Llandudno (it is smaller), but it is a great base and these towns are just a short drive away. We will definitively coming back to this Guest House if we are in the area. Excellent stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carsten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Property: Ellingham House
Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing